Campus locations

The University of Sydney has several campuses and teaching facilities spread across greater Sydney, but most of our faculties and student support services are based on the Camperdown and Darlington campuses.

Students relax the grass in the Quadrangle

Students relax on the grass in the Quadrangle.

Busy thoroughfare: Students walk down Eastern Avenue

Busy thoroughfare: Students walk down Eastern Avenue

In many ways this campus is like a small town – it even has its own postcode. Although it’s just a 15-minute bus ride from central Sydney (or a 10-minute walk from Redfern train station), the campus is filled with its own services.

There are shops, banks, a post office, doctors, chemists, bookshops, heaps of cafes and bars, and a security bus to get you around safely at night.

The Camperdown and Darlington campuses also house our library – the largest academic library in the Southern Hemisphere – where you can access literally millions of print and online resources.

Some faculties are based at the main campus but have specialist teaching areas elsewhere. For example, the Faculty of Agriculture and Environment and the Faculty of Veterinary Science make use of the extensive farms and research units at the Camden Campus (65km southwest of the city).

Other faculties have their own dedicated campuses. Sydney College of the Arts is based in Victorian buildings in Rozelle, while students at the Conservatorium of Music learn in a heritage building in the Royal Botanic Gardens, very close to the Sydney Opera House.

The Faculty of Dentistry is based in Surry Hills, opposite Central train station, and the Faculty of Health Sciences has modern facilities at Cumberland Campus, a short bus trip from Lidcombe train station.