Academic Standards and Policy Committee


Ex Officio Members

the Chair of the Committee:

Professor Jane Hanrahan

the Chair of the Academic Board, or nominee:

Associate Professor Tony Masters

the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education), or nominee: 

Professor Pip Pattison 

the Director, Educational Innovation, or nominee: 

Professor Adam Bridgeman

the President of the Students' Representative Council,
or nominee:

Ms Chloe Smith

the President of  the Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association, or nominee:

Mr Thomas Greenwell

Appointed Members

The Academic Board shall appoint one member from each faculty and at least one undergraduate student member and one postgraduate student member, nominated by members of the Board:

Faculty Name
Agriculture and Environment Associate Professor Thomas Bishop
Architecture, Design and Planning Associate Professor Glen Hill
Arts and Social Sciences Associate Professor Mark Melatos
Business School Associate Professor Geoff Frost
Dentistry Associate Professor Tania Gerzina
Education and Social Work Associate Professor Robyn Gibson
Engineering and Information Technologies  Associate Professor Peter Gibbens
Health Sciences Dr Debra Shirley
Law Professor Greg Tolhurst
Medicine Dr Peter Knight
Nursing and Midwifery Vacant
Pharmacy Associaet Professor Veysel Kayser
Science Mrs Helen Agus
Sydney College of the Arts Associate Professor Ann Elias
Sydney Conservatorium of Music Associate Professor Jennifer Rowley
Veterinary Science Associate Professor Alex Chaves
Student representatives

Vacant (Postgraduate)

Ms Subeta Vimalarajah (Undergraduate)

Deputy Chair

The Committee may appoint one member, on the nomination of the Chair of the Committee, to act as Deputy Chair:


On the recommendation of the Committee, the Academic Board may co-opt additional members. Co-opted members may be selected from the University community or be external to the University of Sydney and may express interest directly to the Chair of the Committee, but must have an interest and/or experience in issues considered by the Committee. The term of office of members co-opted by the Committee shall be specified at the time of co-option and such members shall have all rights and privileges of other members:

Name Faculty
Dr Tim Allender

Faculty of Education and Social Work 

Dr Frances Di Lauro

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences 

Professor Manuel Graeber

Faculty of Medicine 

Ms Kerrie Henderson

Office of General Counsel

Associate Professor Maurice Peat

University of Sydney Business School