Graduate Studies Committee


Ex Officio Members

  • the Chair of the Committee:TBA
  • the Chair of the Academic Board, or nominee: Associate Professor Tony Masters
  • the Chair of the PhD Award Sub-Committee: TBA
  • the Chair of the Postgraduate Awards Sub-Committee: Associate Professor Ross Coleman
  • the Director of the Graduate Studies Office: Mr Simon French
  • the President of the Sydney University Postgraduate Representative Association, or nominee: Mr Christian Jones (President)

Appointed Members

The Academic Board shall appoint one member from each faculty and at one postgraduate coursework and one postgraduate research student member nominated by members of the Board. Please note that the membership for 2016 is currently being finalised and that the list below is for 2015:



Agriculture and Environment

Associate Professor Michael Kertesz

Architecture, Design and Planning

Associate Professor Paul Jones

Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Mark Melatos


Associate Professor Geoff Frost


Associate Professor Ayman Ellakwa

Education and Social Work

Associate Professor David Hirsh

Engineering and Information Technologies

Dr John Kavanagh

Health Sciences

Dr Alison Harmer


Associate Professor David Hamer



Nursing and Midwifery

Dr Andrea McCloughen


Professor Ines Krass


Dr Jenny Saleeba

Sydney College of the Arts

Mr Justin Trendall

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Associate Professor Kathleen Nelson

Veterinary Science

Associate Professor Merran Govendir



Deputy Chair

The Committee may appoint one member, on the nomination of the Chair of the Committee, to act as Deputy Chair:

  • TBA

Co-opted Members

The Committee may co-opt up to four members. Co-opted members may be selected from the members of the Academic Board or the wider University community or may express interest directly to the Chair of the Committee, but must have an interest and/or experience in issues considered by the Committee. The term of office of members co-opted by the Committee shall be specified at the time of co option and such members shall have all rights and privileges of other members:

  • None