Skip to main content
University_

Hire a venue

Host your event in one of our heritage buildings

A range of venues, spaces and facilities are available to hire on Camperdown Campus and the Conservatorium. We cater for all types of events, from business conferences to weddings.

From high-tech lecture theatres to classical stain-glassed windows, we have venues available for events and special occasions.

Heritage venues include The Great Hall and MacLaurin Hall, with reservations managed through University Venues.

Our scenic grounds around the Quadrangle are ideal for smaller or more casual groups. Our museums and art gallery can also be booked for private functions.

Other historic sites – including the Refectory and Chancellor’s Room – can be booked by our partner, Host Co, so visit their website to find out more.

Talks, awards and business functions

The Eastern Avenue Foyer and Auditorium is a popular choice for large presentations and keynote addresses. The Law School also offers several facilities suitable for business functions.

The purpose built conference centre, meeting and event space, The Darlington Centre, offers a conference room and lounge, a boardroom, four meeting rooms, and the Forum restaurant with its outdoor garden space. 

It’s ideal for corporate events, cocktail parties, launches, or even film shoots and weddings.

The Seymour Centre also has a range of adaptable spaces, from smaller areas for private gatherings, to rehearsal rooms or auditoriums for award ceremonies.

Make a booking with us

To book:

  • The Great Hall
  • MacLaurin Hall
  • Darlington Centre and Forum Restaurant
  • Eastern Avenue Lecture theatre, or any other teaching spaces on campus

Please contact one of our event coordinators at University Venues directly on +61 2 9351 1537, or email university.venues@sydney.edu.au and we will help you find and book the appropriate venue.

To book:

Please contact our partner, HostCo on +61 2 95636245, or email info@hostcosydney.com

We have several outdoor spaces that can be booked by the hour:

  • The Quadrangle lawns 1-4 (inside the Quadrangle)
  • The Front Lawn (in front of the Quadrangle, bordered by University Place)
  • The Quadrangle cloisters (inside the Quadrangle)
  • The Botany Lawn (beside the Macleay Building)
  • Cadigal Green (on the Darlington Campus beside the Old School Building)

While a booking will ensure no other event can take place, we can’t guarantee exclusive use of the space, and the area cannot be blocked for access.

Eastern Avenue cannot be booked, however you can seek approval to hold an event in this area by contacting University Venues on +61 2 9351 1537, or email university.venues@sydney.edu.au

In all venues (excluding the Darlington Centre) you will need to organise catering.

We can advise on catering budgeting and provide a list of preferred catering companies.

You can select a caterer yourself, but they will need to be approved by University Venues staff, hold a gold license, complete the University work health and safety induction, sign a catering agreement and provide a bond.

Catering can’t be taken inside lecture theatres and seminar rooms but we can help you find a venue with a foyer area that can be used for eating and drinking. 

The Great Hall does not have a commercial kitchen. The Ante Room can be used, however caterers need to bring in all the equipment to be used.

Darlington Centre Forum Restaurant menus

Catering and Beverage Packages 2015 (PDF)

Lunch menus (PDF)

Venue hire includes any of the accessories, equipment and furniture already existing in the room. A list of these items will be provided on confirmation of your booking.

If your event requires additional furniture or audiovisual (AV) equipment, you may want to bring in external providers. The University has a list of preferred suppliers – please ask us when you make your booking.

However, many venues include:

  • data projectors with dual projection
  • computers
  • visualisers (document cameras)
  • interactive screens
  • user-friendly touch panels
  • student interactive kits
  • lecture recording tools

Our core operational hours are between 7am and 7pm. If you book a room during these hours, the rate will cover the hire of University staff.

For after-hours bookings, additional charges may be incurred. Teaching spaces can be booked only at certain times of the year. 

Teaching spaces cannot be booked during semester until timetabling has been completed and all classes allocated. This means we may be unable to check availability of spaces until the Timetabling Unit has released the rooms for bookings.

Semester One bookings may not be available until early March; and Semester Two bookings may need to wait until early May.

Bookings made during these times are allocated to a waiting list, so we recommend that you place a request as far ahead in advance as possible.

We cannot host religious ceremonies in our venues. This includes sermons (of any denomination), christenings and Bar Mitzvahs.

Civil service wedding ceremonies are allowed. During semester (view the University calendar), weddings can only be held on weekends to minimise disruption to students and staff.

Sydney Conservatorium of Music,
Corner of Bridge & Macquarie Street, Sydney
T: +61 2 9351 1203
E: con.venues@sydney.edu.au

Seymour Centre
City Road, Camperdown
T: +61 2 9351 7680
E: Use the contact form on the website

Holme Building and Manning House
Camperdown/Darlington Campus, Sydney
T: +61 2 9563 6245
E: info@hostcosydney.com

Pre-qualified suppliers

Bayleaf Catering
Hannah Wicks
hannah@bayleaf.com.au
02 9713 2663
0425 247 760

European Catering Pty Ltd
Arnold Huber
arnold@europeancatering.com.au
02 9317 2733
0425 352 041

Flavours Catering + Events
Kirsten May
kirsten@flavourscatering.com.au
1300 368 605

HostCo (University of Sydney Union Caterer)
Ryan Fox
ryan@hostcosydney.com
info@hostcosydney.com

02 9563 6218

Pearl Catering
Craig Durston
craig@pearlcatering.com.au
02 9331 8488
02 8338 0266

Austage Events Sydney Unit Trust
Roger Farr
roger.f@austage.com.au
02 9317 3900
0416 271 199

AV1 audio visual production p/l
Tim Lynden
tim@av1.com.au
02 8310 0300
0421 166932

Barton Management Pty Ltd
James Barton Ashcroft
jamesbartonashcroft@mac.com
0414 446 666
02 9144 6165

Event Equipment Pty Ltd
Alastair McGill
alastair@eventequipment.com.au
0433 211 239

Divine Events
Madeline Nieuwenhuizen
madeline@divineevents.com.au
02 9125 4998

Trisha Roy
trisha@divineevents.com.au
02 9125 4999

Gardjohn Nominees Pty Ltd trading as All Covered
Kim Gardner
kim@allcovered.com.au
02 8824 3249
0412 722 318

Moreton Hire Pty Ltd
Felicity Holusa
felicity.holusa@moreton.net.au
02 8394 8251
0417 082 557

Pages Sales Pty Ltd
Tania Watt
taniaw@pages.id.au
02 9533 9400

ExpoNet
Christine Kotsis
christine@exponet.com.au
02 9645 7017
0413 209 700

Daniel Presling
daniel.p@exponet.com.au
02 9645 7000
0400 451 248

Steven Capilli
steven@exponet.com.au
02 9645 7002
0413 209 661

Moreton Hire Pty Ltd
Felicity Holusa
felicity.holusa@moreton.net.au
02 8394 8251
0417 082 557

Pages Sales Pty Ltd
Tania Watt
taniaw@pages.id.au
02 9533 9400

Pillingers Hiring Service
Matthew Lyons
matthew@pillingershire.com.au
0411 863 988

Bill Green Photography
Bill Green
bgreenphoto@gmail.com
0404 063 357

Camille Nuttall
Camille Nuttall
cam@camillenuttall.com
0410 432 757

Maja Baska
Maja Baska
mail@majabaska.com
0403 159 090

Matthew Vasilescu Photography
Matthew Vasilescu
hello@mattvas.com.au
0419 922 992

Robert Catto
Robert Catto
robert@robertcatto.com
0415 747 606

Sarah Rhodes
Sarah Rhodes
photos@sarahrhodes.com
0400 100 850

Sharon Hickey
Sharon Hickey
sharon@sharonhickey.com.au
0411 370 577

Alexander Thomas Media Co Pty Ltd
Arielle Bowers
arielle@alexanderthomas.media
1300 856 894
0498 048 913

Broken Yellow Pty Ltd
Navid Bahadori
nbahadori@brokenyellow.com
02  8097 9356
0405 500 772

Emlyn Crockett
Emlyn Crockett
emlyncrockett@hotmail.com
0407 924 825

Laundry Lane Productions Pty Ltd
Alexandra Cordukes
alexandra@laundrylane.com
0422 291 734

Look Right Productions
Ben Sutton
ben@lookrightproductions.com.au
0438 208 817

The Visual Asylum
Luke Banfield
luke@thevisualasylum.com
0422 911 006

Woody Media Pty Ltd
Caroline Pagram
caroline@woody.tv
02 8880 1251
0400 550 140