Faculty deans

The University of Sydney has 16 faculties, each of which belongs to an academic division.

Each faculty is headed by a dean: a scholar and administrator who manages the faculty and represents it in University-wide decision-making.

Here is a list of the current faculty deans.

Division of Architecture and Creative Arts

Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning

Professor John Redmond

Professor John Redmond
Appointed September 2010

Much of Professor Redmond’s work has been in industry-based research and practice, focusing on industrial design but also covering communications design and the design of environments.

Sydney College of the Arts

Professor Colin Rhodes

Professor Colin Rhodes
BA Lond MA PhD Essex

Professor Rhodes writes and lectures widely on modern art, primitivism and outsider art.

His areas of academic expertise include modern and contemporary art; outsider art; drawing; painting; sculpture; art and design in higher education; research in art and design; twentieth-century and contemporary art history and theory; modernism; expressionism; and outsider art.

Sydney Conservatorium of Music

Dr Karl Kramer

Dr Karl Kramer
BME Temple MM Yale DMA MSM

Dr. Karl Kramer comes to the University of Sydney Conservatorium of Music after holding the position as professor of music and director of the University of Illinois School of Music for ten years. Prior to that, he served as dean of the Purchase Conservatory of Music at the State University of New York and Dean of Music at the New World School of the Arts in Miami, Florida.

Division of Business

Professor Gregory Whitwell

Professor Gregory Whitwell
BEc (Hons) Monash PhD Melbourne

Professor Gregory Whitwell is Dean of the University of Sydney Business School. His past appointments include high-profile leadership roles across the academic sector, including Professor of Marketing and Senior Deputy Dean of the Australian School of Business at the University of New South Wales, and Deputy Dean and Director (Graduate School of Business and Economics) in the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne.

Division of Engineering and Information Technologies

Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies

Professor Archie Johnston

Professor Archie Johnston

Professor Johnston is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, Engineers Australia, and the Institution of Civil Engineers.

Division of Health Sciences

Faculty of Health Sciences

Professor Kathryn Refshauge

Professor Kathryn Refshauge
MBiomedE PhD UNSW DipPhty GradDipManipTher Cumb

Professor Refshauge is an internationally recognised leader in research in musculoskeletal injury, in particular sports injuries, back pain and neck pain. She is a board member of Sports Medicine Australia, and a member of the Australian Physiotherapy Association, the Musculoskeletal Physiotherapists Association and the NSW Population and Health Services Research Committee.

Division of Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Professor Duncan Ivison

Professor Duncan Ivison

Professor Ivison's areas of academic expertise include political theory, the history of political thought and ethics.

Faculty of Education and Social Work

Associate Professor Fran Waugh

Associate Professor Fran Waugh (Acting)
BSW UNSW PhD GradCertHighE Sydney

Associate Professor Waugh's research expertise in in the areas of safety and well-being of children, violence against women and children
and knowledge building in social work practice and education.

Faculty of Law (Sydney Law School)

Professor Joellen Riley

Professor Joellen Riley
BA MA LLB PhD Sydney BCL Oxf DipMgt MGSM

Professor Joellen Riley has been teaching and researching in the field of employment and labour law since 1998. Professor Riley is a Fellow of the Commercial Law Association and since 2008, she has been a co-editor of the Australian Journal of Labour Law.

Division of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Pharmacy

Faculty of Dentistry

Professor Chris Peck

Professor Chris Peck
MScDent Sydney PhD BrCol GradDipScMed (Pain) Sydney, GAIC

Professor Peck's areas of academic expertise include jaw function and oro-facial pain.

Faculty of Medicine (Sydney Medical School)

Professor Bruce Robinson

Professor Bruce Robinson

Professor Robinson is an endocrinologist and is the head of the Cancer Genetics Unit at the Kolling Institute of Medical Research, Royal North Shore Hospital.

His areas of academic expertise include thyroid disease; endocrinology; and endocrine tumours.

Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery (Sydney Nursing School)

Professor Jill White

Professor Jill White
BEd SCAE MEd PhD Sydney AssDipNEd Cumb, RN RM

Professor White is a registered nurse and midwife and president of the NSW Nurses and Midwives Board.

Her areas of academic expertise include curriculum development of nurses and midwives; the effects on practice of organisational reform; health policy; professional regulation (registration and accreditation); health services management; new models of care, including models of primary health care; and nursing and midwifery practice.

Faculty of Pharmacy

Professor Iqbal Ramzan

Professor Iqbal Ramzan
MSc PhD Sydney DipPharm CIT(NZ)

Professor Ramzan is a registered pharmacist and a Fellow of Senate.

His areas of academic expertise include pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of drugs; herbal medicines; drug assays; drug metabolism; pharmaceutics; and anaesthesia.

Division of Natural Sciences

Faculty of Agriculture and Environment

Professor Mark Adams

Professor Mark Adams
BSc PhD Melbourne
Appointed 2008

Professor Adams is a passionate advocate of 'conservation through use'.

His areas of academic expertise include conservation, agriculture, natural resources, food, environment, climate change, carbon balance, ecosystems, bioremediation, soil, acidity, alinity, sodicity, nutrient improverishment, water, fire and bushfires.

Faculty of Science

Professor Trevor Hambley

Professor Trevor Hambley
BSc UWA PhD Adelaide, FRACI CChem

Professor Hambley is the elected president of the Council of the Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry, the peak international body in this area.

He is leading the development of new methods for monitoring and modifying the distribution of anticancer drugs in solid tumours and new methods for identifying and targeting tumours.

Faculty of Veterinary Science

Professor Rosanne Taylor

Professor Rosanne Taylor
BVSc DipVetClinStud PhD GradCertHighE Sydney

Professor Taylor is interested in inherited neurological disease in animals and exploring new strategies for therapy. She is a consultant to OBTL project, City University, Hong Kong, a Graduate Certificate Mentor and a VSAAC accreditation team member.

Additional new research directions include lactation biology (BMC Genomics) and veterinary higher education.