Organisational structure

This diagram illustrates the University's organisational structure and how we organise our academic and administrative teams. For more information on each element, see the left-hand menu.

The Senate is the governing authority of the University of Sydney. The Vice-Chancellor and Principal reports to the Senate, as does the Academic Board.

The Senior Executive Group (SEG), and Secretary to Senate; Director of Policy Analysis and Communication and Director of Corporate Media Relations all report directly to the Vice-Chancellor and Principal.

The main administrative areas of the University are: Alumni and Events Office; Campus Infrastructure Services; Development Office; Finance; Human Resources; Information and Communications Technology; and Office of General Counsel.

International Activites also report to the Vice-Chancellor. These activites include: International development (regional/country programs; international agencies, fellowships and scholarships); Confucius Institute; International services (partnerships and networks, communications, International Program Development Fund (IPDF), administration); and Sydney World Programs (Academic Delegations, Protocol and VIP visits, Fora, International Leaders Program).

Five Deputy Vice-Chancellor (DVC) positions report directly to the Vice-Chancellor and Principal, each with its own reporting structure [indicated in square brackets]. They are:

Provost and DVC [Faculties, Libraries, Museums and Theatres, Marketing and Communications, Planning and Information Office, Summer and Winter School, China Studies Centre, Sydney Southeast Asia Centre, US Studies Centre)];

DVC (Education) and Registrar [Learning and teaching: Institute for Teaching and Learning; Learning Centre; Maths Learning Centre; e-Learning; Centre for English Teaching; Social Inclusion Unit; Graduate Studies Office; Secretariat; Student Affairs Unit (student appeals, misconduct, progression monitoring); Student Lifecycle Management: admissions; enrolment; examinations; fees; graduations; recruitment; timetables; Sydney Student Program; Student Support Services (accommodation, careers, child care; counselling and psychological services, disability services, financial assistance, orientation, scholarships); International Student Office];

DVC (Indigenous Strategy and Services) [Integrated Indigenous Strategy, Koori Centre];

DVC (Research) [Research Development and Collaboration; Research Grants and Contracts; Research Integrity and Ethics Administration; Research Reporting, Analysis, Data and Systems; Research Strategy and Policy Framework; Commercial Development and Industry Partnerships/Sydnovate;University-wide research centres ( Australian Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis; Brain and Mind Research Institute; Charles Perkins Centre)];

DVC (Strategic Management) [Work Slate; Project coordination; Quality assurance; Strategic risk management framework; Continuing education (Centre for Continuing Education, Law Extension Committee, Sydney Learning)].

Information as at January 1 2013

Download a printable version of the organisational chart (PDF, 44KB)