Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Julie Cairney

Director, SMM 

Prof. Materials Characterisation

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

A/Prof Rongkun Zheng Associate Professor Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 239

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Mr Mehdi Eizadjou Research Associate (Materials Engineering) Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6487

E: mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Mr Wen Hao Kan Postdoctoral Research Associate in Wear Resistant Materials Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6570

E: wen.kan@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Mr Keita Nomoto Research Support Engineer Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: keita.nomoto@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Benjamin Pace Post-doctoral Researcher (Tue - Fri) Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6473

E: benjamin.pace@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Sunny Zhou Research Assistant  

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E: cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Lisa Abraham Administration Manager (Job share) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Brenda Bedewi Administration Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: brenda.bedewi@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Linda Cassimatis Administration Manager (Job share) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Dr Caroline Fuery AMMRF Chief Operating Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 2887

E: caroline.fuery@ammrf.org.au

Room 242

Ms Kara Hanna AMMRF Administration Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 8627 6250

E: kara.hanna@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Mr Daniel Matthews Multimedia Communications Officer (Mon-Thur) AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7533

E:daniel.matthews@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer (on vacation) AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Benjamin Pace AMMRF Project Officer (Mon) AMMRF

T: +61 2 8627 6473

E: benjamin.pace@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager AMMRF

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Mr Toshi Arakawa Microscopist, Instrumentation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7532

E: toshi.arakawa@sydney.edu.au

Room 118

Dr Vijay Bhatia SEM Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9036 7633

E: vijay.bhatia@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Mr Jacob Byrnes Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: jacob.byrnes@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A
Ms Katja Eder Atom Probe Support Scientist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 6571

E: katja.eder@sydney.edu.au

Room 328
Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis & Computed Tomography Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ashalatha Indiradevi SEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5145

E: ashalatha.indira@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Tamila Kaplinovsky Light Optical Microscopy Assistant (part-time, Mon, Thur & Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5116

E: tamila.kaplinovsky@sydney.edu.au

CPC

Dr Michael Kuligowski Senior Technical Officer (Confocal Microscopist), Brain and Mind Centre Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: michael.kuligowski@sydney.edu.au

BMC

Ms Melanie Laird Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E: melanie.laird@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Mr Steve Moody Senior Technical Officer – Metrology & Ion Beam Systems Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4397

E: steven.moody@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Yingying Su Senior Light Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 3302

E: yingying.su@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Limei Yang Senior Technical Officer, Atom Probe Sample Preparation AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7534

E: limei.yang@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Ms Brunna Almeida PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 brunna.dealmeida@sydney.edu.au
Mr Xianghai An Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 xianghai.an@sydney.edu.au
Mr Robert Aughterson (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 robert.aughterson@sydney.edu.au
Mr Pengju Bian PhD Student 02 9036 9683 243 pengju.bian@sydney.edu.au
Mr Adam Calvetti Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 acal3498@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Hansheng Chen PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au
Mr Zi Bin Chen Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 z.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Delfine Cheng PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au
Ms Yen Jane Chong Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 ycho0459@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Christopher Corcoran Honours Student 02 9351 7679 324 christopher.corcoran@hdr.mq.edu.au
Mr Alec Day PhD Student 02 9351 7551 324 alec.day@sydney.edu.au
Mr Florant Exertier PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 florant.exertier@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ruhao Fang PhD Student 02 9351 7587 272 ruhao.fang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Peng Gao Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 peng.gao@sydney.edu.au
Mr Md Nazmul Hasan Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 m.hasan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jeffrey Henriquez PhD Student 02 9351 7551 328 jeffrey.henriquez@sydney.edu.au
Mr Qianwei Huang Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 qianwei.huang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Yong Tae Jang (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 yongtae.jang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mansoor Khan PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 mansoor.khan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ade Wijaya Kismarahardja Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 ade.kismarahardja@sydney.edu.au
Ms Sherry (Li) Liu PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 sherry.liu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Han Lin Mai Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 hmai2512@uni.sydney.edu.au
Ms Ingrid McCarroll PhD Student 02 9351 7679 326 ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gitae Moon Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 gmoo2884@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Ranming Niu Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 rniu7577@usyd.edu.au
Mr Christian Nunnari Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 cnun6080@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Majid Parvizi PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 majid.parvizi@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jiangtao Qu PhD Student 02 9036 9683 243 jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami PhD Student 02 9351 7551 324 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Matthew Sloane PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 matthew.sloane@sydney.edu.au
Mr Glenn Sneddon PhD Student 02 9351 7551 324 glenn.sneddon@sydney.edu.au
Ms Pei Xin Tan Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 ptan7842@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Nikhil Thirumani Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 nthi8061@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Bulbul Thirumaran Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 bthi9063@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Hao Wang Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 hwan4809@sydney.edu.au
Mr Apurv Yadav PhD Studen 02 9351 7564 366 apurv.yadav@sydney.edu.au
Ms Fan Yun PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 fan.yun@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff & Visitors

  Name Position Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
A/Prof. Cox Guy Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Mr Dennis Dwarte Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au
Dr Alexandre La Fontaine Honorary Research Associate     alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Dr Patrick Trimby Honorary Research Fellow     patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au