Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Julie Cairney

Director, SMM 

Prof. Materials Characterisation

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM (on sabbatical until October 2016)

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

Dr James Burchfield

Associate Director

Molecular Bioscience

T: + 61 2 8627 1982

E: james.burchfield@sydney.edu.au

Level 5 West, Charles Perkins Centre (D17)

Dr Laura Lindsay

Associate Director

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 2508

E: laura.lindsay@sydney.edu.au

Anderson Stuart (F13)

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

A/Prof Rongkun Zheng Associate Professor Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 239

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Vijay Bhatia Postdoctotal Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 7633

E: vijay.bhatia@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Andrew Breen Postdoctotal Research Associate - Atom Probe Support Engineer Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: andrew.breen@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Mr Tom Hartley Scientific Visualisation Specialist  

T: +61 2 8627 5418

E: tom.hartley@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Mr Alexandre La Fontaine Research Assistant  

T: +61 2 8627 1123

E: alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Leigh Stephenson Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 5180

E:

leigh.stephenson@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Junhai Xia Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

 T: +61 2 9351 7552

E: junhai.xia@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Sunny Zhou Research Associate Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E:cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Lisa Abraham Administration Manager (part-time, Mon-Wed) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Linda Cassimatis Administration Manager (part-time, Thu-Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Ms Kara Hanna Administration Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: kara.hanna@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Suzan Reid AMMRF Administration Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 8627 1596

E: suzan.reid@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Mr Andres Vasquez eLearning Tools Developer AMMRF

T: +61 2 8627 4057

E:andres.vasquez@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager AMMRF

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

 

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Mr Toshi Arakawa Microscopist, Instrumentation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7532

E: toshi.arakawa@sydney.edu.au

Room 118

Ms Ashalatha Indiradevi SEM Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5145

E: ashalatha.indira@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis & Computed Tomography Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Tamila Kaplinovsky Light Optical Microscopy Assistant (part-time, Mon, Thur & Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5116

E: tamila.kaplinovsky@sydney.edu.au

CPC

Dr Michael Kuligowski Senior Technical Officer (Confocal Microscopist), Brain and Mind Research Centre Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: michael.kuligowski@sydney.edu.au

BMRC

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Mr Steve Moody FIB-SEM/SPM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4397

E: steven.moody@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Mr Adam Sikorski Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: adam.sikorski@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A

Dr Gavin Tjin Light Optical Microscopy Assistant Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5147

E: gavin.tjin@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Patrick Trimby SEM Manager & Deputy Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7561

E: patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Robert Aughterson (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 robert.aughterson@sydney.edu.au
Mr Pengju Bian PhD Student 02 9351 7587 272 pengju.bian@sydney.edu.au
Mr Hansheng Chen PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Delfine Cheng PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au
Ms Katja Eder PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 katja.eder@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mehdi Eizadjou PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au
Mr Qaiser Ihsan Gondal Honours/Master 02 8627 5131 215  
Mr James Hancock Honours/Master 02 8627 5131 215  
Mr Jeffrey Henriquez PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 jeffrey.henriquez@sydney.edu.au
Mr Yong Tae Jang (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 yongtae.jang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Wen Hao Kan PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 wen.kan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mansoor Khan PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 mansoor.khan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Chang-Pei (Frank) King PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 chang-pei.king@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jue Liu PhD Student 02 9351 7587 272 jue.liu@sydney.edu.au
Ms Ingrid McCarroll PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au
Mr Chad Moore PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 chad.moore@sydney.edu.au
Mr Keita Nomoto (part-time) PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366  
Mr Majid Parvizi PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 majid.parvizi@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jiangtao Qu PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Kristian Ringer Honours/Master 02 8627 5131 215  
Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mathew Sloane Honours/Master 02 8627 5131 215  
Mr Glenn Sneddon PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 glenn.sneddon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Chenxu Wang (part-time)

PhD Student

02 9351 7564 366 chenxu.wang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Joshua Watts PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 joshua.watts@sydney.edu.au
Mr Tao Yang PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 t.yang@sydney.edu.au
Ms Fan Yun PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 fan.yun@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff & International Visitors

  Name Position Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
A/Prof. Cox Guy Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Mr Dennis Dwarte Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
Dr Yidan Huang Honorary Academics 02 9036 9078 322 yidan.huang@sydney.edu.au
Dr Dongling Jiao Research Affiliate 02 8627 1248 326 dongling.jiao@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au
Prof Lijun Luan Research Affiliate 02 9351 3995 326 lijun.luan@sydney.edu.au