Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Honorary and Visitor | Duty Microscopist | Hot Desk


For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Download Staff Directory (PDF format, 82 KB)

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Julie Cairney

Director, SMM 

Prof. Materials Characterisation

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

A/Prof Rongkun Zheng Associate Professor Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 239

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Andrew Breen Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 9190

E: andrew.breen@sydney.edu.au

Room 322

Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Hansheng Chen Research Assistant Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 8752

E: hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Yi-Sheng (Eason) Chen Sydney Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6898

E: yi-sheng.chen@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Zi Chen Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9351 3176

E: z.chen@sydney.edu.au

Room 322

Dr Katja Eder Atom Probe Support Scientist Microscopy Australia T: +61 2 8627 6571

E: katja.eder@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Mehdi Eizadjou Postdoctoral Research Associate (Materials Engineering) Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6487

E: mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Wen Hao Kan Postdoctoral Research Associate in Wear Resistant Materials Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6570

E: wen.kan@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Feng Li ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA) fellow Physics

T: +61 2 8627 7567

E: feng.li2@sydney.edu.au

Room 272

Dr Ingrid McCarroll Atom Probe Scientist Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 7640

E: ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Keita Nomoto Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: keita.nomoto@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Benjamin Pace Post-doctoral Researcher Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6473

E: benjamin.pace@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Jiangtao Qu Postdoctoral Research Associate Physics

T: +61 2 9036 9683

E: jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Sunny Zhou Postdoctoral Research Associate Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E: cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Suqin Zhu Research fellow in Materials Science & Engineering Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Linda Cassimatis Operations Manager      (Job share) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Ms Kara Hanna Microscopy Australia Senior Administration Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6250

E: kara.hanna@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Tina Popovacki Administration Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: tina.popovacki@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Mei Chien (Karen) Say Administration Officer (Mon, Wed, Thur) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 1670

E: meichien.say@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Susan Warner Microscopy Australia Administration Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6250

E: susan.warner@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Lisa Yen Microscopy Australia Chief Operating Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 2887

E: lisa.yen@micro.org.au

Room 242

Duty Microscopist phone numbers

  Name Position Phone Building
DM Madsen Building Duty Microscopist - Madsen 02 9351 7567 Madsen
DM Sydney Nanoscience Hub Duty Microscopist - SNH 02 8627 7236 SNH
DM Charles Perkins Centre Duty Microscopist - CPC 0439 311 040 CPC
DM Brain and Mind Centre Duty Microscopist - BMC 0427 371 180 BMC

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Dr Vijay Bhatia SEM Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9036 7633

E: vijay.bhatia@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Mr Jacob Byrnes Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: jacob.byrnes@sydney.edu.au

Room 142
Dr Bill Close Cryo/Biological Transmission Electron Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 9050

E: william.close@sydney.edu.au

Room 124
Dr Neftali Flores Rodriguez Light Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 7097

E: neftali.floresrodriguez@sydney.edu.au

CPC
Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis & Computed Tomography Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Dr Magnus Garbrecht Senior TEM Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 7163

E:magnus.garbrecht@sydney.edu.au

Room 142 Madsen, 4025 NanoSci Hub

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ashalatha Indiradevi SEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5145

E: ashalatha.indira@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ellie Kable Facility Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Michael Kuligowski Senior Technical Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: michael.kuligowski@sydney.edu.au

BMC

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Yingying Su Senior Light Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 3302

E: yingying.su@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Courtney Wright Microscopist, Brain & Mind Centre Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: courtney.wright@sydney.edu.au

BMC

Dr Limei Yang Senior Technical Officer, Atom Probe Sample Preparation Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 7534

E: limei.yang@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Ms Huma Bilal PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 huma.bilal@sydney.edu.au
Mr Christopher Corcoran Honours Student 02 9351 7679 324 christopher.corcoran@hdr.mq.edu.au
Mr William Davids PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 william.davids@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ruhao Fang PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 ruhao.fang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mengwei He PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 mengwei.he@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ashraful Howlader PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 ashraful.howlader@sydney.edu.au
Mr Bryan Lim PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 bryan.lim@sydney.edu.au
Mr Han Lin Mai PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 han.mai@sydney.edu.au
Mr Majid Parvizi PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 majid.parvizi@sydney.edu.au
Mr Glenn Sneddon PhD Student 02 8627 7677 326 glenn.sneddon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Qi (Chim) Wang PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 chim.wang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Apurv Yadav PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 apurv.yadav@sydney.edu.au
Mr Tiebin Yang PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 tiebin.yang@sydney.edu.au
Ms Fan Yun PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 fan.yun@sydney.edu.au
Ms Xingmo (Mimzy) Zhang Master Student 02 8627 5130 270 mimzy.zhang@sydney.edu.au

Hot Desk

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Peng Gao PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 peng.gao@sydney.edu.au
Mr Md Nazmul Hasan PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 m.hasan@sydney.edu.au
Ms Qianwei Huang PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 qianwei.huang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ranming Niu PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 rniu7577@usyd.edu.au
Mr Hao Wang MPhil Student 02 8627 5131 215 hwan4809@sydney.edu.au
Mr Zijian (James) Yu PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 zijian.yu@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff & Visitors

  Name Position Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
Mr Ojo Akinribide Visiting Scholar 02 9351 7564 366 ojo.akinribide@sydney.edu.au
A/Prof. Cox Guy Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Mr Dennis Dwarte Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
Dr Chao Jin Visiting Scholar 02 8627 8753 272 jin.chao@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au
Dr Alexandre La Fontaine Honorary Research Associate     alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Dr Patrick Trimby Honorary Research Fellow     patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au