Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Julie Cairney

Director, SMM 

Prof. Materials Characterisation

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

A/Prof Rongkun Zheng Associate Professor Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 239

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Yi-Sheng (Eason) Chen Sydney Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6898

E: yi-sheng.chen@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Yahui Cheng Postdoctoral Research Associate Physics

T: +61 2 8627 6873

E: yahui.cheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 243

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Katja Eder Atom Probe Support Scientist Microscopy Australia T: +61 2 8627 6571

E: katja.eder@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Mehdi Eizadjou Postdoctoral Research Associate (Materials Engineering) Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6487

E: mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Wen Hao Kan Postdoctoral Research Associate in Wear Resistant Materials Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6570

E: wen.kan@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Feng Li ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA) fellow Physics

T: +61 2 8627 7567

E: feng.li2@sydney.edu.au

Room 272

Dr Ying (Anne) Liu Postdoctoral Research Associate Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6777

E: anne.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Ingrid McCarroll Atom Probe Scientist Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 7640

E: ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Keita Nomoto Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: keita.nomoto@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Benjamin Pace Post-doctoral Researcher (Tue - Fri) Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 8627 6473

E: benjamin.pace@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Jiangtao Qu Postdoctoral Research Associate Physics

T: +61 2 9036 9683

E: jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Sunny Zhou Postdoctoral Research Associate Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E: cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Lisa Abraham Operations Manager      (Job share) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Tina Cantore Administration Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: tina.cantore@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Linda Cassimatis Operations Manager      (Job share) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Dr Caroline Fuery Microscopy Australia Chief Operating Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 2887

E: caroline.fuery@micro.org.au

Room 242

Ms Kara Hanna Microscopy Australia Senior Administration Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6250

E: kara.hanna@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Mr Daniel Matthews Multimedia Communications Officer (Mon-Thur) Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 7533

E:daniel.matthews@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Benjamin Pace Microscopy Australia Project Officer (Mon) Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6473

E: benjamin.pace@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Mei Chien (Karen) Say Administration Officer (Mon, Wed, Thur) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 1670

E: meichien.say@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Susan Warner Microscopy Australia Administration Officer Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 8627 6250

E: swar2258@uni.sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Duty Microscopist phone numbers

  Name Position Phone Building
DM Madsen Building Duty Microscopist - Madsen 02 9351 7567 Madsen
DM Sydney Nanoscience Hub Duty Microscopist - SNH 02 8627 7236 SNH
DM Charles Perkins Centre Duty Microscopist - CPC 0439 311 040 CPC
DM Brain and Mind Centre Duty Microscopist - BMC 0427 371 180 BMC

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Dr Vijay Bhatia SEM Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9036 7633

E: vijay.bhatia@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Mr Jacob Byrnes Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: jacob.byrnes@sydney.edu.au

Room 142
Dr Neftali Flores Rodriguez Light Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 7097

E: neftali.floresrodriguez@sydney.edu.au

CPC
Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis & Computed Tomography Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Dr Magnus Garbrecht Senior TEM Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 7163

E:magnus.garbrecht@sydney.edu.au

Room 142 Madsen, 4025 NanoSci Hub

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis (on maternity leave)

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ashalatha Indiradevi SEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5145

E: ashalatha.indira@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Tamila Kaplinovsky Light Optical Microscopy Assistant (part-time, Mon, Thur & Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 8627 5116

E: tamila.kaplinovsky@sydney.edu.au

CPC

Dr Michael Kuligowski Senior Technical Officer (Confocal Microscopist), Brain and Mind Centre Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: michael.kuligowski@sydney.edu.au

BMC

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami Acting General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 8627 6399

E: gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Yingying Su Senior Light Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 3302

E: yingying.su@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Ms Courtney Wright Microscopist, Brain and Mind Centre Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9114 4194

E: courtney.wright@sydney.edu.au

BMC

Dr Limei Yang Senior Technical Officer, Atom Probe Sample Preparation Microscopy Australia

T: +61 2 9351 7534

E: limei.yang@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Co-ordinator

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Ms Huma Bilal PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 huma.bilal@sydney.edu.au
Mr Hansheng Chen PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Delfine Cheng PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au
Mr Christopher Corcoran Honours Student 02 9351 7679 324 christopher.corcoran@hdr.mq.edu.au
Mr Ruhao Fang PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 ruhao.fang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mengwei He PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 mengwei.he@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ashraful Howlader PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 ashraful.howlader@sydney.edu.au
Mr Han Lin Mai PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 han.mai@sydney.edu.au
Mr Majid Parvizi PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 majid.parvizi@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami PhD Student 02 8627 6399 326 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Glenn Sneddon PhD Student 02 8627 7677 326 glenn.sneddon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Qi (Chim) Wang PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 chim.wang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Apurv Yadav PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 apurv.yadav@sydney.edu.au
Mr Tiebin Yang PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 tiebin.yang@sydney.edu.au
Ms Fan Yun PhD Student 02 8627 5130 270 fan.yun@sydney.edu.au
Ms Xingmo (Mimzy) Zhang Master Student 02 8627 5130 270 mimzy.zhang@sydney.edu.au

Hot Desk

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Robert Aughterson (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 robert.aughterson@sydney.edu.au
Ms Yen Jane Chong Honours Student 02 8627 5131 215 ycho0459@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Peng Gao PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 peng.gao@sydney.edu.au
Mr Md Nazmul Hasan PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 m.hasan@sydney.edu.au
Ms Qianwei Huang PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 qianwei.huang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Yong Tae Jang (part-time) PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 yongtae.jang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ranming Niu PhD Student 02 8627 5131 215 rniu7577@usyd.edu.au
Mr Hao Wang MPhil Student 02 8627 5131 215 hwan4809@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff & Visitors

  Name Position Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
A/Prof. Cox Guy Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Mr Dennis Dwarte Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin Honorary Academics 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au
Dr Alexandre La Fontaine Honorary Research Associate     alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Dr Patrick Trimby Honorary Research Fellow     patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au