Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Julie Cairney

Acting Director, SMM 

Prof. Materials Characterisation

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Biomedical Imaging Scientist

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

A/Prof Rongkun Zheng Associate Professor Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 272

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Vijay Bhatia Postdoctotal Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 7633

E: vijay.bhatia@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Andrew Breen Postdoctotal Research Associate - Atom Probe Support Engineer Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: andrew.breen@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Dong Liu Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 3995

E: dong.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Leigh Stephenson Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 5180

E:

leigh.stephenson@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Derek Wong Research Associate  Physics

T: +61 2 9036 9107

E: derek.wong@sydney.edu.au

Room 270
Dr Sunny Zhou Research Associate Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E:cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Lisa Abraham Administration Manager (part-time, Mon-Wed) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Miles Apperley Chief Ececutive Officer, AMMRF AMMRF

 

T: + 61 2 9351 2887

E: miles.apperley@sydney.edu.au

Room 242

Ms Linda Cassimatis Administration Manager (part-time, Thu-Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Kara Hanna Administration Officer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: kara.hanna@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Kastoori Hingorani Business Development Consultant Engineering & Information Technologies

T: +61 2 9351 5322

E: kastoori.hingorani@sydney.edu.au

Room 243

Mr Rupal Moharana AMMRF Project Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 4513

E: rupal.moharana@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager AMMRF

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

 

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Mr Toshi Arakawa Microscopist, Instrumentation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7532

E: toshi.arakawa@sydney.edu.au

Room 118

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer

AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis and Computed Tomography Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Mr Steve Moody SEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4397

E: steven.moody@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Mr Adam Sikorski Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: adam.sikorski@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A

Dr Yingying (Susan) Su Senior Light Microscopist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 3302

E: yingying.su@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Dr Patrick Trimby SEM Manager & Deputy Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7561

E: patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Dr Junhai Xia Acting Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: junhai.xia@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A

Dr Limei Yang Senior Technical Officer Atom Probe Sample Preparation AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 7534

E: limei.yang@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Robert Aughterson PhD Student 02 9036 9683 108 robert.aughterson@sydney.edu.au
Mr Pengju Bian PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 pengju.bian@sydney.edu.au
Mr Hansheng Chen PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Peng (Penny) Chen PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 penny.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Delfine Cheng PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au
Ms Katja Eder PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 katja.eder@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mehdi Eizadjou PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au
Mr Li Fan PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 li.fan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Tong Gao PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 tong.gao@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jeffrey Henriquez PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 jeffrey.henriquez@sydney.edu.au
Mr Yong Tae Jang (part-time) PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 yongtae.jang@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mansoor Khan PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mansoor.khan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Alexandre La Fontaine PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Ms Ingrid McCarroll PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au
Mr Chad Moore (part-time) Hons Student 02 9351 7564 366 chad.moore@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jiangtao Qu PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au
Ms Saritha Samudrala PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 saritha.samudrala@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Glenn Sneddon PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 glenn.sneddon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Kaan Tugcu (part-time) PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 kaan.tugcu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Joshua Watts PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 joshua.watts@sydney.edu.au
Ms Fan Yun PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 fan.yun@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff

  Name Affiliation Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
Mr Dwarte, Dennis ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
A/Prof. Cox, Guy ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au