Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Simon Ringer

Director, SMM 

Professor of Engineering

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 2351

E: simon.ringer@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Biomedical Imaging Scientist

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Julie Cairney

Deputy Director, SMM 

A/ Prof. Materials Characterisation 

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

Dr Lilian Soon Senior Lecturer, Structural Cell Biology Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 5322

E: lilian.soon@sydney.edu.au

Room 243

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Rongkun Zheng Senior Lecturer Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 272

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Andrew Breen Postdoctotal Research Associate - Atom Probe Support Engineer Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: andrew.breen@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Peter Felfer Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7548

E: peter.felfer@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Tong Li Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering 

T: +61 2 9351 7548

E: tong.li@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Peter Liddicoat ARC DECRA Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6414

E:peter.liddicoat@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Barbara Scherrer Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 7633

E:barbara.scherrer@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Gang Sha Senior Researcher Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 9050

E: gang.sha@sydney.edu.au

Room 330

Leigh Stephenson Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

 T: +61 2 9351 9036

E:

leigh.stephenson@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Junhai Xia ARC DECRA Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7552

E: junhai.xia@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Hung-Wei (Homer) Yen Atom Probe Scientist Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 9107

E: homer.yen@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Wai Kong Yeoh Australian Postdoctoral Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 9264

E: waikong.yeoh@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Assistant  

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Liping Dai Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

 T: +61 2 9351 7529

E: liping.dai@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Lisa Abraham Administration Manager (part-time, Mon-Wed) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Miles Apperley General Manager, AMMRF AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 2887

E: miles.apperley@sydney.edu.au

Room 242

Ms Linda Cassimatis Administration Manager (part-time, Thu-Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

 

Potter, Rebecca Administrative Assistant Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: rebecca.potter@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Mr Toshi Arakawa Microscopist, Instrumentation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7532

E: toshi.arakawa@sydney.edu.au

Room 118

Ms Delfine Cheng Microscopist

Medical Science

T: + 61 2 9351 6948

E: delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Sherin Chikhani General Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: sherin.chikhani@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

 

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis and Computed Tomography Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist (on maternity leave 2013)

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Mr Steve Moody SEM Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 4397

E: steven.moody@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Mr Adam Sikorski Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: adam.sikorski@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A

Dr Patrick Trimby SEM Specialist & Deputy Lab Manager

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7561

E: patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Araullo - Peters, Vicente PhD Student 02 9351 7564 319 vicente.araullopeters @sydney.edu.au
Mr Aughterson, Robert PhD Student 02 9036 9683 106 robert.aughterson @sydney.edu.au
Mr Bian, Pengju PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 pengju.bian@sydney.edu.au
Mr Davies, Gareth Hons Student 02 9351 7564 366 gdav4345@uni.sydney.edu.au
Mr Du, Sichao (Stanley) PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 sichao.du@sydney.edu.au
Ms Eder, Katja PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 katja.eder@sydney.edu.au
Mr Eizadjou, Mehdi PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au
Mr Henriguez, Jeffrey PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 jeffrey.henriquez@sydney.edu.au
Mr La Fontaine, Alex PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Ms Lei, Yimin (Fiona) PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 yimin.lei@sydney.edu.au
Mr Poon, Ira PhD Student 02 9351 7564 324 ira.poon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Qu, Jiangtao PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au
Ms Samudrala, Saritha PhD Student 02 9351 7564 319 saritha.samudrala@sydney.edu.au
Mr Shami, Gerry PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Sun, Jie (Victor) PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 jie.sun@sydney.edu.au
Mr Watts, Joshua PhD Student 02 9351 7564 319 joshua.watts@sydney.edu.au
Ms Zhang, Jie (Kathy) PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 kathy.zhang@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff

  Name Affiliation Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
A/Prof. Cox, Guy Medicine 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Mr Dwarte, Dennis Medicine 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au