Staff Directory

Academic | Research | Business & Administration | Technical | Students | Visitors | Honorary

For section managers's contact details and phone numbers for instrument rooms please refer to the Facilities page.

Academics

Name Position School Contact
Prof. Simon Ringer

Director, SMM 

Professor of Engineering

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 2351

E: simon.ringer@sydney.edu.au

Room 232

A/Prof. Filip Braet

Deputy Director, SMM

Biomedical Imaging Scientist

Medical Sciences

T: + 61 2 9351 7619

E: filip.braet@sydney.edu.au

Room 264A

A/Prof. Julie Cairney

Deputy Director, SMM 

A/ Prof. Materials Characterisation 

Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 4523

E: julie.cairney@sydney.edu.au

Room 262

A/Prof. Zongwen Liu Associate Professor Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 7535

E: zongwen.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 266

Dr Gwénaëlle Proust Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 9491

E:gwenaelle.proust@sydney.edu.au

Room 237B

Dr Rongkun Zheng Senior Lecturer Physics

T: + 61 2 9351 7542

E: rongkun.zheng@sydney.edu.au

Room 272

Affiliated Researchers

Name Position School Contact
Dr Andrew Breen Postdoctotal Research Associate - Atom Probe Support Engineer Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 8098

E: andrew.breen@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Anna Ceguerra Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6416

E: anna.ceguerra@sydney.edu.au

Room 237A

Dr Barbara Scherrer Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9036 7633

E:barbara.scherrer@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Derek Wong Research Assistant  

T: + 61 2 9036 9107

E:derek.wong@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Mr Jianchao (Jack) Peng Research Assistant  

T: + 61 2 9351 4853

E:jianchao.peng@sydney.edu.au

Room 324

Dr Junhai Xia ARC DECRA Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7552

E: junhai.xia@sydney.edu.au

Room 326

Dr Leigh Stephenson Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 5180

E:

leigh.stephenson@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Peter Felfer Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 7540

E: peter.felfer@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Peter Liddicoat ARC DECRA Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9036 6414

E:peter.liddicoat@sydney.edu.au

Room 328

Dr Sunny Zhou Research Assistant  

T: +61 2 9351 7412

E:cuifeng.zhou@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Suqin Zhu Research Assistant  

T: +61 2 9351 7547

E: suqin.zhu@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Tong Li Postdoctoral Research Associate Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering 

T: +61 2 9351 7548

E: tong.li@sydney.edu.au

Room 268

Dr Xiangyuan (Carl) Cui Research Fellow Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9114 0558

E: carl.cui@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Dr Zenming Lu Visiting Scholar  

T: +61 2 9351 3995

E: zenming.lu@sydney.edu.au

Room 270

Business & Administration Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Dr Miles Apperley General Manager, AMMRF AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: + 61 2 9351 2887

E: miles.apperley@sydney.edu.au

Room 242

Ms Lisa Abraham Administration Manager (part-time, Mon-Wed) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4499

E: lisa.abraham@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Linda Cassimatis Administration Manager (part-time, Thu-Fri) Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4215

E:linda.cassimatis@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Dr Jenny Whiting Marketing & Business Development Manager AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9114 0566

E: jenny.whiting@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

 

Ms Deirdre Molloy Multimedia Communications Officer AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

T: +61 2 9351 4493

E: deirdre.molloy@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

 

Ms Rebecca Potter Administrative Assistant Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: rebecca.potter@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Ms Adriana Sung Administrative Assistant Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 2351

E: adriana.sung@sydney.edu.au

Room 234

Mr Matthew Radandt AMMRF Project Officer AMMRF

T: +61 2 9351 4513

E: matthew.radandt@sydney.edu.au

Room 219

Technical Staff

Name Position Affiliation Contact
Ms Ellie Kable Laboratory Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7566

E: eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au

Room 128A

Dr Patrick Trimby SEM Specialist & Deputy Lab Manager Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7561

E: patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au

Room 116B

Mr Adam Sikorski Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7546

E: adam.sikorski@sydney.edu.au

Room 110A

Dr Hongwei Liu TEM Specialist Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4069

E: hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Limei Yang Senior Technical Officer Atom Probe Sample Preparation  

T: +61 2 9351 7534

E: limei.yang@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Matthew Foley Image Analysis and Computed Tomography Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7565

E: matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Minh Huynh General Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7525

E: minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au

Room 111A

Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7642

E:naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au

Room 142

Dr Pamela Young Light & Optical Microscopist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 7527

E: pamela.young@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Mr Steve Moody SEM Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: +61 2 9351 4397

E: steven.moody@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Takanori Sato Atom Probe Engineer

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

T: + 61 2 9351 7541

E: takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au

Room 124

Dr Thomson Chow Information & Communication Systems Officer

AMMRF, Aerospace, Mechanical & Mechatronic Engineering

 

T: +61 2 9351 7545

E: thomson.chow@sydney.edu.au

Room 241

Mr Toshi Arakawa Microscopist, Instrumentation Specialist

Sydney Microscopy & Microanalysis

 

T: +61 2 9351 7532

E: toshi.arakawa@sydney.edu.au

Room 118

Dr Yingying (Susan) Su Senior Light Microscopist

 

T: +61 2 9351 3302

E: yingying.su@sydney.edu.au

Room 116A

Students

  Name Position Phone Room, Madsen Building Email
Mr Alexandre La Fontaine PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 alex.lafontaine@sydney.edu.au
Mr Chad Moore Hons Student 02 9351 7564 366 chad.moore@sydney.edu.au
Ms Delfine Cheng PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 delfine.cheng@sydney.edu.au
Mr Gerald (Gerry) Shami PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 gerald.shami@sydney.edu.au
Mr Hansheng Chen PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 hansheng.chen@sydney.edu.au
Ms Ingrid McCarroll PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 ingrid.mccarroll@sydney.edu.au
Mr Ira Poon PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 ira.poon@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jeffrey Henriquez PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 jeffrey.henriquez@sydney.edu.au
Mr Jiangtao Qu PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 jiangtao.qu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Joshua Watts PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 joshua.watts@sydney.edu.au
Mr Kaan Tugcu PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 kaan.tugcu@sydney.edu.au
Ms Katja Eder PhD Student 02 9351 7679 324 katja.eder@sydney.edu.au
Mr Li Fan PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 li.fan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mansoor Khan PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mansoor.khan@sydney.edu.au
Mr Mehdi Eizadjou PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 mehdi.eizadjou@sydney.edu.au
Ms Peng (Penny) Chen PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 penny.chen@sydney.edu.au
Mr Pengju Bian PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 pengju.bian@sydney.edu.au
Mr Robert Aughterson PhD Student 02 9036 9683 108 robert.aughterson@sydney.edu.au
Ms Saritha Samudrala PhD Student 02 9351 7551 319 saritha.samudrala@sydney.edu.au
Mr Tong Gao PhD Student 02 9351 7564 366 tong.gao@sydney.edu.au

Honorary Staff

  Name Affiliation Phone Room (Madsen Building) Email
Mr Dwarte, Dennis ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 dennis.dwarte@sydney.edu.au
A/Prof. Cox, Guy ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 guy.cox@sydney.edu.au
Dr Ian Kaplin ACMM 02 9351 3176 322 ian.kaplin@sydney.edu.au