Facilities at SMM

SMM boasts the country's most comprehensive array of specimen preparation and imaging and analysis equipment. We pride ourselves on our state-of-the-art instruments and support a full range of conventional instruments for optical, electron and X-ray imaging.

Because ACMM is the principal node of the AMMRF, users at SMM have access to a large and diverse range of facilities around Australia.

Duty Microscopist: 02 9351 7567
Emergencies & Security: 02 9351 3333

Room Contact Numbers

Facility Phone Room
General Office 02 9351 2351 234
Teaching Lab 02 9351 7556 213
Tea Room & Kitchen 02 9351 7543 235
Meeting Room (Level 3) 02 9114 0913 317
Materials Specimen Preparation Lab 02 9351 7544 110
Biological & SEM Specimen Preparation Laboratory 02 9351 7530 127B
Molecular Specimen Preparation Lab 02 9351 7554 130
Cell Culture Lab 02 9351 7536 132C
Image Simulation & Analysis Laboratory 02 9351 7450 231
Heat Treatment Lab 02 9351 4900 227
Computed Tomography & Reconstruction Laboratory 02 9351 7539 112
Light & Optical Lab 02 9351 7550 114
IMAGO Local Electron Atom Probe Suite 02 9351 7588 128B
JEOL 3000F TEM 02 9351 7786 128D
3View SEM 02 9351 7528 124A
Philips CM120 Biofilter TEM 02 9351 7409 120
FEI Quanta 200 3D FIB & Zeiss Auriga 02 9036 5124 126
Zeiss ULTRA Plus SEM 02 9036 9172 125
Zeiss EVO/Qemscan 02 9351 7410 119
Light & Optical Lab 02 9036 5312 111
Olympus FluoView FV1000 Confocal Microscope, TIRF, Nikon SensiCam, Leica SPE Confocal 02 9351 8535 131

Section Managers

  Name Position Phone Room Email
Ms Ellie Kable Lab Manager 02 9351 7566 128A eleanor.kable@sydney.edu.au
Dr Matthew Foley Microscopist, Image Analysis & Tomography Specialist 02 9351 7565 124 matthew.foley@sydney.edu.au
Dr Patrick Trimby SEM Specialist & Deputy Lab Manager 02 9351 7561 116A patrick.trimby@sydney.edu.au
Dr Takanori Sato Research Associate, Atom Probe Scientist 02 9036 6414 326 takanori.sato@sydney.edu.au  
Dr Hongwei Liu Microscopist, Advanced TEM Specialist 02 9351 4069 124 hongwei.liu@sydney.edu.au
Mr Adam Sikorski Microscopist, Materials Specimen Preparation Specialist 02 9351 7546 110A adam.sikorski@sydney.edu.au
Ms Pam Young Microscopist, Light & Optical Imaging Specialist 02 9351 7566 128A pamela.young@sydney.edu.au
Ms Naveena Gokoolparsadh
Biological Specimen Preparation Specialist 02 9351 7642 142 naveena.gokoolparsadh@sydney.edu.au
Ms Minh Huynh Cell Culture 02 9351 7525 111A  minh.huynh@sydney.edu.au