Timeline for the Australian Lebanese Foundation


December 2 2005

The Premier’s Dinner was hosted by The Australian Lebanese Foundation in the presence of the Premier of NSW, The Honorable Morris Iemma at The Stamford Plaza, Double Bay. Approximately 50 couples enjoyed an intimate evening during which the 2005 Scholarship Recipients were introduced to the Premier. Guests had the opportunity to be photographed and converse with the Premier. It was a most relaxed and enjoyable evening.

ALF and Morris Iema

ALF Council Members with Morris Iemma, Premier of NSW.

Dec 2005

Dr.Jamal Rifi, The Honorable Morris Iemma, Premier of NSW, Professor Fadia Ghossayn and Mr. George Ghossayn.

Dec 2005

Premier Morris Iemma with 2005 Scholarship recipients Mariam Saab and Elie Matar

August 2005

The ALF stand at this year’s Sydney Uni LIVE! was a success. The University Events and Schools Liaison Manager reported that evaluation forms, booth tally sheets, bus statistics and mini lecture data indicate that (despite the patchy weather!) the number of visitors to campus was just over the 15,000 mark. The day ran smoothly and the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive. Representation from faculties, departments, University of Sydney Union, Sydney University Sport, the SRC, Residential Colleges, Sydney Uni Village, the Koori Centre and the Australian Lebanese Foundation ensured that prospective students gained a very positive insight into what the University of Sydney has to offer. The ALF handed out more than 50 scholarship application forms to eligible enquirers on the day.

July 2005

The ALF web site was redesigned and updated.

June 2005

The 2004 Annual Report was submitted to the University of Sydney Senate.

May 2005

The 2005 Annual General Meeting was held on 25 th May during which the Annual Report for 2004 was presented and tabled. Twelve new Council Office Bearers and members were elected.

April 2005

Four university scholarships were awarded at a formal presentation followed by cocktails and dinner held at Camperdown Campus.
The recipients were:

  • Tom Hayek, Bachelor of Science
  • Anthony Mardini, Bachelor of Law, Bachelor of Economics
  • Elie Matar, Bachelor of Medical Science
  • Mariam Saab, Bachelor of Psychology.

2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001