Photo of honoured alumna Dr Kerryn Phelps AO

Honoured alumna Dr Kerryn Phelps AO

Close to 50 Sydney alumni were recognised in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday honours and include those below. A full list of alumni honoured can be found on our website at

John Anderson (BA ‘78 MA ‘80) former deputy prime minister & former leader of the National Party, was awarded an AO for distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly through support of rural and regional communities, transport development and water management initiatives.

Richard Le Plastrier (BArch ‘63) a leader in Australian architecture, received an AO for distinguished service to architecture, particularly through the application of environmentally sensitive design, and as an educator and mentor.

Mark Scott (BA ‘84 DipEd ‘84 MA ‘93) managing director of the Australian Broadcasting Commission since 2006, received an AO for distinguished service to media and communications, and to the community through advisory and governance roles with a range of social justice and educational bodies.

Peter FitzSimons (BA ‘83) former Wallaby; author and columnist with the Sydney Morning Herald, received an AM for services to literature as a biographer, sports journalist and commentator, and to the community through contributions to conservation, disability care, social welfare and sporting organisations.

Kerryn Phelps (MBBS ‘81) (above) former president of the Australian Medical Association; medical professional and media personality, AM for service to medicine, particularly through leadership roles with the Australian Medical Association, education and community health, and as a general practitioner.

Congratulations also to Sir David Higgins (BE (Civil) ‘77) former chief executive of the London 2012 Summer Olympics Delivery Authority, who received a knighthood in the UK’s Queen’s Birthday honours.

2011 Queen's Birthday Honours list