Class notes


Daniel Robinson (BScAgr ’11)

Daniel Robinson has won the NSW Australian Contaminated Land Consultants Association’s ACLCA) Young Achiever award in 2012 for his work on groundwater containment.

David works for Environmental Earth Sciences (EES) in Artarmon on Sydney’s lower north shore, and he is the second employee of EES to win the award in a row, following the success in 2011 by Matt Miklos. The ACLCA Young Achiever Awards recognised scientists in the contaminated-land consultant industry. Entrants need to be under 30, with less than five years in the industry.


James Castrission (BCom ’04)
Image of James Castrission

Portrait of James Castrisson by Mark Roper

James Castrission and his friend Justin Jones made history last year with the longest unsupported polar journey of all time from Hercules Inlet to the South Pole and back.

Castrission wrote a book about their adventure, Extreme South (Hachette 2012), reviewed in SAM last October, and this year the pair were recognised by having their individual portraits painted for the Archibald Prize.

Castrisssion was painted by Mark Roper, and Jones by Graeme Gates.

Kinley Wangchuk (MCom Accounting ’08)

Kinley Wangchuk has been working with the Royal University of Bhutan full time in the Accounting faculty since graduating from Sydney. From 2010, he has served as a member of the Accounting and Auditing Standards Board of Bhutan, the first Accounting Standard Board in the country.

In December he received the National Order of Merit (Gold Medal) from the Fifth King of Bhutan in recognition of his service to the university and the country. Mr Wangchuk says he owes this honour to the University of Sydney for the training he received here.

Helen Vincenti (BA ’09)

Helen Vincenti has recently rewritten a psychological crime thriller she began in 2001. The idea for the book, titled The Othello Syndrome, came from two sources: her University preparation course lecturer at Sydney, Dr John Merchant, who gave classes on the subject of memory, and an article in New Scientist about a controversial theory of memory which argues that it is stored in DNA rather on structural changes to the synapse.

The first part of the book was published on Kindle Amazon in December. The final chapters are being posted on her website. A print edition was available at the start of April.


Graham Hiley QC (BA ’69 LLB ’72)
Image of Graham Hiley

Graham Hiley

(BA ’69 LLB ’72) has been appointed a justice of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory.

Graham has practised as a lawyer since graduating in 1972, first as a solicitor (until 1978) then as a barrister. He lived and worked in Darwin from 1976 until 1994, and in Brisbane from 1994 until 2012. He took silk in 1987.

He is a National Accredited Mediator. He has practised over a wide range of areas, particularly commercial, administrative law and native title. He was one of the founders of the Northern Territory Bar Association and of William Forster Chambers and was an active participant in various associations and tribunals in the NT.

Jane Rutter (Sydney Conservatorium of Music)
Image of French Kiss

Jane Rutter

Jane Rutter has just released her 16th album, titled French Kiss. A renowned flautist and concert performer, Jane studied on a French government scholarship in Paris with Alain Marion and Jean-Pierre Rampal.

During her career she has lectured at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, founded the Music Scheme, formed the innovative chamber group POSH, performed with the Australia Ensemble and has worked as soloist with many international stars.

Her CD An Australian in Paris, released in 2012, reached Number 1 in the Australian classical charts and was nominated for an Australian ARIA award.

Nigel Douglas (BSc’79 PhD ’86)
Image of Nigel Douglas

Nigel Douglas

Nigel Douglas has been awarded an honorary associateship by the Sydney Institute for Astronomy in recognition of decades of scientific contributions to observational astrophysics and innovative instrumentation.

Nigel is living in the Netherlands, where he works at the University of Groningen.