Alumni Council

The alumni council provides a representative and independent voice of alumni on the University Senate. The Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning alumni council meets once a month to discuss upcoming alumni events and initiatives.

Meet some of the council members:

David Turner BArch, MDesSc(Hons) FAIA - President of the Alumni Council and Graduate Fellow of Senate
David Turner

David Turner graduated in architecture in 1971 and facilities management in 1997. His professional work includes the conversion of the Mint and Hyde Park Barracks into a museum of NSW history, the Riverside Theatres at Penrith and art galleries in rural NSW.
He also taught for 10 years at UNSW as a senior lecturer in the Faculty of Commerce and Economics, serving as deputy Head of the School of Marketing and Director of the Master of Commerce program. During that time he introduced social engagement programs for overseas students, and introduced real-world experience into his courses through extensive industry participation.
He has served on the Alumni Council of the Faculty of Architecture, Design and Planning, for 6 years.
He has served on the University Alumni Council for 5 years and was elected President in February 2009. Since then the alumni have been represented at all graduations, personally welcoming new graduates on the quadrangle lawn. The alumni awards program has been expanded and the Alumni Council has also developed a student engagement ptogram.

David himself was elected to Senate in 2009.

Varoujan Bedrossian MDesSc (Bldg Des) (Syd Fac Arch) NBPR-1 FCIOB FAIB MAIPM MIAMA AAIQS HIA MBA JP
Varoujan Bedrossian

Varoujan Bedrossian is one of the directors and a founder of Shavar Pty Ltd, Independent and accredited Building Consultants, specialising in dispute resolution and providing expert witness reports. Their areas of specialisation include: economical and practical solutions to building problems, identifying sources of problems, reports on building defects with specialist knowledge in moisture problems, assisting solicitors and counsel and providing expert evidence in court.

Having worked in the construction industry for more than 35 years both in Australia and overseas and having been involved in many professional associations and institutes, including the Alumni Association of the Faculty of the Architecture at Sydney University, Varoujan believes strongly that in order to succeed, we need to be passionate about every activity in which we are involved.

Michael Neustein BArch MCOM FRAIA FPIA FAIM FAPI CPP - Director / Architect & Urban Planner, Neustein Urban
Michael Neustein

Experienced expert witness, Michael Neustein is adept at presenting urban planning/design evidence before the LEC and has frequently served as a court appointed expert. He is a member of the LEC Court Users' Group and the Law Society’s Local Government and Planning Law Specialist Accreditation Committee. Managing the approvals process from regulation to litigation, he provides statutory, strategic and compliance advice, prepares SEEs, advises on the optimal use of a site or property, and devises how best to meet local and state approval requirements.

Adjunct Senior Lecturer and President of the Faculty of Architecture’s Alumni Association at Sydney University, Michael Neustein is also Vice President of the Australian Institute of Urban Studies. His commitment to teaching is evidenced in his direction of NEERG Seminars and as vice chair of the Australian Institute of Architects National Committee for Continuing Professional Development.

Brian Griffin BArch
Brian Griffin

Brian Griffin graduated BArch with the Stephenson Turner Medal in 1954. After experience in Australia and overseas he commenced private practice in 1975 specialising in research and teaching facilities. In 1998 he wrote his first book based on his experience, ‘Laboratory Design Guide’ Elsevier UK, now 3rd edition. Currently he is writing a book on the new pedagogy of teaching and learning. His main project on the Alumni Council is the archiving of student and faculty drawings under the title McConnel Drawings Collection.

Ken Woolley AM B Arch, Hon DScArch SydneyLFRAIA, FTSE, Architect
Ken Woolley

Ken Woolley was born in Sydney in 1933, attended Sydney Boy’s High School and studied architecture at the University of Sydney, where he graduated with 1st Class Honours and the University Medal in 1955. He was a founding member of the special design team in Harry Rembert's Design office of the NSW Government Architects Branch and soon became involved in major projects such as Fisher Library, which received the Sulman Award in 1962 and then the State Office Block. His own house at Mosman, 1962, won the Wilkinson Award and set private practice in train with project housing for Pettit and Sevitt. He went into the partnership Ancher Mortlock Murray & Woolley in 1964, just prior to Ancher's retirement. This practice has received all the major architectural awards and created numerous outstanding buildings which include the Australian Embassy in Bangkok, Town Hall House Sydney, the Park Hyatt at Campbell's Cove, the ABC Radio and Orchestra Centre at Ultimo, the Victorian State Library, the Control Tower at Sydney Airport, the Olympics and RAS Dome Exhibition and Indoor Sports Halls, the Olympic Hockey Stadium, the Sydney Convention Centre, Darling Harbour and the refurbishment of the Queen Victoria Building.
The most recent recognition was to the State Library of Victoria with the 2006 Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage Architecture.
He has been a visiting professor at the University of Sydney and the University of NSW and chairman or member of numerous award, review and competition juries. He was made a Member of the Order of Australia 1988, was awarded the Gold Medal of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects in 1993, and was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering in 2001.He received the Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to structural engineering. In 2010 he was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Science in Architecture, by the University of Sydney

Monograph: Australian Architects: Ken Woolley – RAIA 1985