University of Sydney Classics and Ancient History Research Seminar Program

Semester One, 2014

Papers are held in the Conference Room of the Centre for Classical and Near Eastern Studies of Australia (CCANESA), which is located on the first floor of the Madsen Builing on Eastern Avenue (at the City Road end) in the University's Camperdown campus.

Papers are followed by light refreshments, and all are welcome. For any further information, please contact Ben Brown


Thursday 6 March, 4.15 pm*
Yahei Kanayama (Nagoya University)
Socrates’ Last Words
*co-hosted with the Department of Philosophy

Monday 10 March, 12.15 pm
Arlene Holmes-Henderson (University of Glasgow)
The study of Classics in UK schools and universities - boom or bust?

Thursday 20 March, 4.15pm
Kathryn Welch (University of Sydney)
History Wars: who avenged Caesar and why does it matter?

Thursday 27 March, 4.15pm
Mary Jane Cuyler (University of Sydney)
Social, Political and Archaeological Landscapes of Roman Ostia in the 1st c. BC and the 21st c. AD

Thursday 10 April, 4.15pm
Andrew Merrills (University of Leicester)
‘And treat those two imposters just the same’: Triumphs, disasters and Roman Geography

Thursday 1 May, 4.15pm
Maria Wyke (University College, London)
Ancient Rome in Silent Cinema

Thursday 8 May, 4.15pm
Richard Miles (University of Sydney)
Cosmopolitanism and the cult of saints in late antique North Africa

Monday 12 May, 12.15pm
Alison Wylie (University of Washington, Seattle)
TBA

Thursday 22 May, 4.15pm
Frances Muecke (University of Sydney)
‘Biondo Flavio goes out to dinner’: antiquarian conversation in elite circles in Renaissance Italy

Thursday 5 June, 4.15pm
Naomi Weiss (University of California, Berkeley)
Music and the Musical Imaginary in Later Euripidean Tragedy: Performing the Hymenaios in Iphigenia in Aulis.

Lectures are free and all are welcome!