Schools and Departments


Studying in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at The University of Sydney means joining a vibrant, academically rigorous community and the opportunity to develop and hone research, analytical and critical thinking skills - no matter where your interests lie within the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. With subject areas spanning traditional and emerging disciplines, the faculty offers the most comprehensive range of humanities and social science programs in Australia.

The Organisational Structure of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is made up of five separate Schools, each including a number of departments and programs, as well as a number of Centres and Foundations, which gives you the opportunity to study a diverse range of subjects areas and disciplines.

If you need information or advice, or have concerns regarding course content, what opportunities exist in certain subject areas, you need to speak with departmental coordinators, academics or tutors, you should contact the relevant School, Department or Centre.

If you would like to know which School administers a specific department, refer to the Schools and Departments page to get an overall view of the organisational structure of the Faculty.

See also

Schools and departments