The School of Economics Annual Lecture


The School of Economics was established from 1 January 2011 to serve as the primary institutional vehicle for Economics research and education within the University of Sydney. That year the School inaugurated an annual public lecture series – the Warren Hogan Memorial Lecture – devoted to the economic analysis of public policy issues. It commemorates Warren Pat Hogan (1929–2009), Professor of Economics in the University of Sydney, 1968–1998. An account of Warren Hogan’s life and activities can be read here.

In 2014 the School of Economics welcomes guest speaker Mr Hugh Harley BEc Hons '84, LLB Hons '86 Financial Services Leader, from Price Waterhouse Coopers. Mr Harley will deliver a lecture titled "Growth in the 21st Century: Innovation or Energy?" on Thursday 30 October.

Hugh Harley is a graduate of the University of Sydney, where he was a student of Warren Hogan, and Cambridge University (MPhil ’87). He has been Financial Services Leader of PwC Australia since 2009 and was appointed Financial Services Leader for PwC for the Asia/Pacific region in July 2014. Mr Harley joined the Commonwealth Bank of Australia as an economist in 1987. Among other positions at Commonwealth Bank, he was Group Executive, Retail Banking (2002–2006) and Group Executive, Group Strategy (2006–2007). He was Director of ASB Bank NZ (2001–2002) and Chairman of the Audit Committee of ING Bank Australia (2007–2010). Mr Harley has been an Adjunct Professor in the University of Sydney Business School since 2012 and is a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia.

Please register to attend.

The 2011 Lecture was given by Mr Glenn Stevens (BEc Hons ’80), Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia, on 8 December at the Eastern Avenue Auditorium, University of Sydney. The text of Mr Stevens’s address is published in the Reserve Bank of Australia Bulletin (December 2011), at:

The 2012 Lecture was given by Charles Calomiris, Henry Kaufman Professor of Financial Institutions, Columbia University Graduate School of Business, on 17 October at the University of Technology, Sydney: Restructuring Prudential Regulation in Light of the Global Financial Crisis. The slides from Prof Calomiris’s address can be read here.

The 2013 Lecture was given by Dr John Laker (BEc Hons ’72), Chairman of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, on 26 November at the New Law School, University of Sydney: Ideas and Issues in Financial Regulation. The text of Dr Laker’s address is at: