20011 Seminars

Mon 21St March

04:00 pm, Room 498, Merewether Building

Denny Lien

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Estimation of Forward-Looking Relationships in Closed-Form: An Application to the New Keynesian Phillips Curve

Thu 31st March

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Scott French

UNSW

The Composition of Exports and Gravity

Tue 5th April

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Andrew Wait

School of Economics, University of Sydney

The Treason of the Margin (or The Synergy Paradox)

Fri 8th April

04:00 pm, Room 397 Merewether Building

Gianni Amisano

European Central Bank, University of Brescia, Italy

A nonlinear DSGE model for the term structure (with O Tristani)

Mon 11th April

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Jurek Konieczny

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Andrzej Skrzypacz

Stanford GSB

Search, Menu Costs and the Frequency of Price Changes

Thu 14th April

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

John Romalis

Chicago Booth

Prices and the Growth of Real Income Inequality

Mon 18th April

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Nic De Roos

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Dynamic Cooperation Networks

Thu 21th April

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Paul A. David

Stanford University

Mitigating “Anticommons” Harms to Research in Science and Technology: New Moves in “Legal Jujitsu” against Unintended Adverse Consequences of the Exploitation of Intellectual Property Rights on Results of Publicly and Privately Funded Research

Thu 5th May

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Randall P. Ellis

Boston University

Does Service-Level Spending Show Evidence of Selection Across Health Plan Types?

*Co-authored with Shenyi Jiang (Hanqing Advanced Institute of Economics and Finance, Renmin University of China) & Tzu-chun Kuo (Verisk Health, Inc)

Thu 12th May

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Arpita Chatterjee

UNSW

Why Do Similar Countries Choose Different Policies? Endogenous Comparative Advantage and Welfare Gains

Thu 19th May

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Mariano Kulish

RBA

Long-term Interest Rates, Risk Premia and Unconventional Monetary Policy

*Co-authored with Callum Jones

Thu 26th May

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Jingfeng Lu

Monash

Optimal Auctions with Asymmetric Financial Externalities

Thu 9th June

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Lance Fisher

Macquarie University

Structural Cointegrated Models of US Consumption and Wealth

*co-authored with Hyeon-seung Huh (Corresponding author), Yonsei University & Glenn Otto, UNSW

Tue 14th June

01:00 pm, Room 498, Merewether Building

Robert Slonim

School of Economics, University of Sydney

To participate or not to participate: possible representativeness biases in laboratory experiments?

Thu 23th June

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Han Bleichrodt

Erasmus University

Mon 11 July

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether Building

Yoosoon Chang

Indiana

Joon Y. Park

Indiana

Evaluating Factor Pricing Models Using High Frequency Panels, (coauthored with Joon Y. Park & Hwagyun Kim)

Martingale Regressions for Conditional Mean Models in Continuous Time

Thu 14th July

02:00 pm, Seminar Room 102 New Law School Building

Graham Loomes

University of Warwick

Putting a Money Value on a Quality Adjusted Life Year

Thu 14th July

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Kai Hüschelrath

ZEW

The Construction of a Low Cost Airline Network: Facing Competition and Exploring New Markets

*co-authored with Kathrin Müller &Volodymyr Bilotkach

Wed 20th July

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Felix Kubler

ISB University of Zurich

Dynamic General Equilibrium with Complete Markets and Collateral

*co-authored with Piero Gottardi, European University Institut

Tue 26th July

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Ed Hopkins

University of Edinburgh

Inequality and Risk-Taking Behaviour

Thu 28th July

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

David Neumark

University of California - Irvine

Detecting Discrimination in Audit and Correspondence Studies

Thu 4th August

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Helios Herrera

Columbia University

Biased Social Learning

Thu 11 August

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Francis Vella

Georgetown University

Semiparametric Selection Models with Binary Outcomes

Thu 18th August

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Jay Pil Choi

UNSW

Selection Biases in Complementary R&D Projects

Thu 1st Sept

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Kristoffer Nimark

Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona

Man-Bites-Dog: Driven Business Cycles

Thu 8th Sept

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Tim Cason

Purdue University

Bidder Selection in Common Value Auctions

*co-authored with Marco Casari, University of Bologna

Thu 15th Sept

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Priscilla Man

University of Queensland

A Unifying Impossibility Theorem

*Co-authored with Shino Takayama, University of Queensland

Thu 22nd Sept

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Tim Kam

ANU

Worker Heterogeneity and Limited Public Insurance Commitment

*co-authored with Ronald Stauber, ANU

Mon 26th Sept

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Xiaogang Che (co-authored with Hajime Katayama)

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Bidding strategies in Internet auctions: An empirical investigation from eBay

Thu 4th October

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Don Harding

La Trobe

Evidence on multiple equilibria in the United States unemployment rate

Mon 10th October

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Stephen Cheung (with Beekman and Levely)

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Group identity and welfare gains from reintegration in post-conflict economics

Thu 13th October

04:00 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Richard Dennis

ANU

Forward-Guidance, Imperfect Credibility, and Robust Monetary Policy

Mon 17th October

02:00 pm, New Law School Seminar 107

Fahad Khalil

University of Washington

Contracts Offered by Bureaucrats

Joint Seminar with Faculty of Agricultural Resource Economics

Thu 27th October

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Anthony P. D'Costa

Copenhagen Business School

Geography, uneven development and distributive justice: the political economy of IT growth in India

Thu 3rd November

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Stephen Donald

University of Texas at Austin

Estimation and Inference for Distribution Functions and Quantile Functions in Treatment Effect Models

Thu 24rd November

03:30 pm, Room 498 Merewether

Mahmoud Elamin

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Believe Only What You See: Credit Rating Agencies, Structured Finance, and Bonds

Mon 28th November

01:00 pm, Room 397, Merewether Building

Franklin Liu

School of Economics, University of Sydney

Reputational Cheap-talk with Endogenous Verifiability of States