• Date
  • 9th December, 2013
    2:00pm - 3:30pm

    The Affective Turn in the Contemporary Novel

    All are welcome to this lecture by Nancy Armstrong - the Gilbert, Louis, and Edward Lehrman Professor of English at Duke University. A postgraduate masterclass will also be held on the same day.

  • 9th August, 2017 to 11th August, 2017
    August 9th-11th

    Visiting Indigenous Writers' Program - Kim Scott: "TABOO" book launch and seminars

    Presented by the Department of English, School of Literature, Art and Media, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Sydney
    Supported by the Wingara Mura Bunga Barrabugu strategy

    In August we welcome one of Australia’s leading contemporary Aboriginal writers, Noongar author Kim Scott.
    Kim Scott is a multi-award winning novelist. Benang (1999) was the first novel by an Indigenous writer to win the Miles Franklin
    Award and That Deadman Dance (2010) also won Australia’s premier literary prize, among many others. Proud to be one among
    those who call themselves Noongar, Kim is founder and chair of the Wirlomin Noongar Language and Story Project (www. and, with Hazel Brown, wrote Kayang and Me (2005). A Companion to the Works of Kim Scott (Camden
    House, 2016) deals with aspects of his career in education and literature. Kim is currently Professor of Writing in the School of
    Media, Culture and Creative Arts at Curtin University. His latest novel is Taboo (Picador 2017).

  • 23rd August, 2017
    3.00 to 5.00 pm
  • 4th October, 2017
    3.00 to 5.00 p.m.
  • 1st November, 2017
    3.00 - 5.00 p.m.

Past Events

Dr Sue Woolfe featured on ABC

Dr Sue Woolfe of the Department's Creative Writing program was recently featured on the ABC's Talking Heads show. The interview and transcript can be viewed from the Talking Heads website.

Drawing Out Shakespeare Conference

ANZSA, 17-19 June 2010

Historic event

Emeritus Professor Dame Leonie Kramer, Professor of Australian Literature (1968- 1990) and Chancellor of the University (1991-2001), received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters at the University of Sydney graduation ceremony on Wednesday 8 April 2009.

To celebrate this special occasion the English department, which Dame Leonie served for so many years with great distinction, hosted an afternoon tea in her honour.

All four Professors of Australian Literature (Professor G.A. Wilkes, Professor Kramer, Professor Elizabeth Webby, and Professor Robert Dixon) were together at this event and Professor Dixon, the current professor, gave a short address as a tribute to Dame Leonie. Family members, current and past members of staff and postgraduate students also attended.

Sydney's the leading academy for humanities

Kate Grenville, an Honorary Associate and Writer in Residence in the Department of English at the University of Sydney, was named an Honorary Fellow. Full story

Premier's Prize for William Christie

William Christie has won the NSW Premier's Prize for Literary Scholarship for his biography of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the British Romantic poet, philosopher and political thinker. Full story