Postgraduate Research in Creative Writing

The Creative Writing program, in the Department of English, offers the Master of Arts by Research and the Doctor of Arts.

A number of prominent Australian writers have been associated with the Creative Writing program. Staff are all published authors. Award-winning staff include Sue Wolfe, Judith Beveridge and David Brooks. John Tranter and Kate Grenville hold honorary positions in the department.

Students at a sufficiently advanced level may apply for admission to programs above the postgraduate coursework level. The Doctor of Arts is a professional degree, combining formal study in 5 units of study with a substantial and theoretically based writing project. The Masters degree may combine one or two units of study with the writing project, or the degree may be undertaken entirely by a writing project.

The department has links with the literary journals Southerly, The Red Room Company, Hermes, and Philament.

For more information, visit the Department of English website.

Creative Writing postgraduate research programs

Click on the relevant link below for information about admission requirements, fees and how to apply.


Chair of Department

Liam Eagle Semler
Phone Number +61 2 9351 6852
Web Staff Page
Address A20 - John Woolley
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006 Australia