Postgraduate Research in Philosophy

The department of Philosophy offers Australia's most comprehensive teaching and research program in Philosophy. It is internationally recognised for research in the history of philosophy, German philosophy, naturalism and contemporary metaphysics, decision theory, philosophy of science (especially causation and time), philosophy of mind and moral, social and political philosophy. Recently, the department's postgraduate program was ranked in the top 40 philosophy graduate programs in the English-speaking world and in the top 2 in Australasia.

Research students in the department of Philosophy are required to undertake coursework units of study in addition to their research thesis. Coursework units of study are held in the traditional time commitments of undergraduate study (thirteen weeks of two-hourly course meetings).

For more information, visit the Department of Philosophy website.

Philosophy postgraduate research programs

Click on the relevant link below for information about admission requirements, fees and how to apply.


Chair of Department

Nicholas Smith
Phone Number +61 2 9036 6242
Address Room N592
School of Philosophical and Historical Inquiry
A14 - Quadrangle
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006 Australia

Postgraduate Research Coordinator

Paul Griffiths
Phone Number +61 2 9036 6265 - Quad
+61 2 9351 7027 - CPC
Address Room N492 - A14 - Quadrangle
Room 6N77 - Charles Perkins Centre - D17
D17 - Charles Perkins Centre
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006 Australia