Prizes and Scholarships

Undergraduate Prizes

Prizes are awarded annually for top students in Political Economy. List of Prizes:
E.L. Wheelwright Prize ECOP1001
Geelum Simpson-Lee Prize ECOP1002 and ECOP1003
J.K. Galbrauth Prize ECOP2000 units
Sir Hermann Black Prize ECOP 2012
Paul M. Sweezy Prize ECOP3000 units
Gunnar Myrdal Prize ECOP4000 units

Frank Stilwell Award in Political Economy: Criteria

The Department of Political Economy invites applications from Postgraduate Research Students who are completing the first or subsequent year of their candidature to be considered for the Frank Stilwell Award in Political Economy. The Award will be available to students who have made satisfactory progress towards completion of their degree and who merit the award of the scholarship on hardship grounds.

Application will be welcomed from PGR students who are making satisfactory progress in their research as determined by the Postgraduate Research Student Progress Committee.

The award of the Frank Stilwell Award in Political Economy will be made to the student judged to be the most meritorious student by the Department of Political Economy’s Scholarship Award Committee. In making the award this Committee will give priority to applications from students enrolled in the PhD program, and if there is not a successful candidate selected from this cohort, the award could be made to students enrolled in the M.Phil program and M.A. (Research) program.

Applications should be submitted by the close of business, 7 April, to the Postgraduate Coordinator of the Department of Political Economy and will be awarded to the successful candidate conditional on their continued enrolment in the next Research Period. The award is presently valued at $5,000.00. A student may receive the Frank Stilwell Award in Political Economy once during their candidature. Only students not in receipt of a postgraduate research scholarship (including the APA or UPA) are eligible for consideration for this award.

Applications should address the following criteria:
(a) An outline of the progress of their candidature;
(b) Any achievements, such as publications or conference presentations arising from their research, during the course of their candidature;
(c) Evidence of hardship, which should indicate how the award will assist the applicant in progressing her/his studies.

Mary Henderson (Gerstle) Undergraduate Scholarship in Political Economy

Established in 2015 thanks to the generosity of Ms Mary Henderson, the Mary Henderson (Gerstle) Undergraduate Scholarship in Political Economy is designed to support students majoring in Political Economy.

Applications have opened for undergraduate students majoring in Political Economy in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences – please note the deadline for applications of 15 May 2016.

- Open to all full time students enrolled in the Political Economy major

- Applicants can be in the first, second or third year of their degree

- Applicants must be an Australian citizen, permanent resident of Australia or refugee

- Applicants should provide evidence of Austudy, ABSTUDY, Youth Allowance or other payments from Department of Human Services

The total value of the scholarship is $4,000 per semester for the remaining length of the degree, on condition of enrolment in units of study that contribute to a major in Political Economy.

Applications close on Sunday 15 May 2016

Please see website for further details and to apply, or contact with any questions.

The Stuart Rosewarne Prize

The Stuart Rosewarne Prize in Political Economy is awarded for the innovative development of social theory in support of progressive causes. This Prize reflects Stuart Rosewarne's commitment to publicly-engaged research addressing systemic processes of social exclusion and resistance, in particular around class, gender and the environment. The Prize is awarded to a student who completes a research thesis that reflects this approach.

To be considered eligible for this Prize, students must have completed either honours, a masters with dissertation, or PhD the in the Department of Political Economy at the University of Sydney within the year the Prize is awarded.

The Prize will be awarded on nomination by academic staff in the Department of Political Economy. Nominations must state how each nominee reflects Stuart Rosewarne's research approach. The recipient will be awarded the Prize at the yearly December Departmental Examiners Meeting. The prize will not have any money attached to it.