Philament - an online journal of the arts and culture
HomeCall for PapersSubmission GuidelinesAbout PhilamentLinksContact Philament

click here for our
latest news...

About Philament

Philament is a free online journal of postgraduate scholarship in the fields of cultural studies and the literary arts. It is edited and published by an editorial collective of postgraduate students from the University of Sydney but aims to develop an intellectual community that has both an interdisciplinary and intercampus nature.

Philament is designed to be a conduit for uninhibited academic debate, critical discussion, and creative expression over a broad range of topics within the literary arts and cultural studies. Submissions are welcome in the form of long and short articles, reviews, fictional work, and visual or multimedia experiments.

All feature articles are subject to a double blind peer review process, being assessed before publication by at least two external scholars with substantial knowledge of the relevant field. This ensures that the journal publishes submissions that exhibit originality and high standards of critical thought and expression.

Current Editors

  • Chris Rudge
  • Patrick Condliffe
  • Stephanie Constand
  • Natalie Quinlivan

Past Members of the Collective

  • Mark Azzopardi
  • Sophia Barnes
  • Kate Barnsley
  • Rebecca Beirne**
  • Christopher Black
  • Bernadette Cantrall
  • Meegan Capsopoulos
  • Bonny Cassidy
  • Jo Chipperfield
  • Radhiah Chowdhury
  • Emma Cole
  • Karen-Anne Coleman
  • Kate Colleran
  • Sam Dickson
  • Robin Dixon
  • Stephanie Downes
  • Angie Dunstan
  • Kate Flaherty**
  • Ariana Grabrovaz
  • Samar Habib**
  • Emma Halpin
  • Caroline Hamilton**
  • Dreu Harrison
  • Miranda Heckenberg
  • Shyamalika Heffernan
  • Jessica Ison
  • Sue Johnson
  • Michelle Kelly**
  • Aziza Kuypers
  • Roberta Kwan
  • David Large
  • Alexandra Lewis
  • Deirdre Linkiewicz
  • James McLeod
  • Stephen Mansfield
  • Patrick Marland
  • Kieryn McKay**
  • Elaine Minor
  • Lachlan Montgomery
  • Alys Moody
  • Natasha Moore
  • Robbie Moore
  • Estelle Noonan
  • Will Noonan
  • Julian Pinder
  • Phoebe Poon
  • Sabina Rahman
  • Lydia Saleh Rofail
  • Jessica Sands
  • Rebecca Santos
  • Kirsten Seale
  • Stephen Sheehan**
  • Liz Shek-Noble
  • James Smith**
  • Lindsay Tuggle
  • Lucas Thompson
  • Jacinta van den Berg
  • Anna Wallace
  • Helen Young

** (founders of Philament)

Philament is supported by an advisory board. Serving members of this board are:

  • Judith Barbour
  • Judith Beveridge
  • Guy Davidson
  • Laura Ginters
  • Melinda Harvey
  • Ivor Indyk
  • Ivar Kvistad
  • Kieryn McKay**
  • Margaret Rogerson
  • Timotheos Roussos**

Original Philament web site design by Caroline Hamilton.
It is currently managed by Chris Rudge and Patrick Condliffe.


ISSN: 1449 - 0471
Copyright for submitted materials are held exclusively by the Author.
All other copyrights are held by the University of Sydney © 2015. All rights reserved.