Funded by the Australian Research Council, the Laureate Research Program in International History is devoted to advancing our understanding of the international and internationalist origins of the global present. Led by Professor Glenda Sluga, this team of historians is investigating the international history of globalization from the perspective of people and ideas, with special attention to how, since the nineteenth century, economic ideas have influenced the intellectual, institutional and legal frameworks of today's global order. Working in cooperation with international institutions such as UNESCO, this research program aims to regenerate public debate concerning globalization seen through the past, present and future of international political and economic institutions.

For a detailed list of lectures and presentations give by project members please see individual profiles under Our People; for their publications, see Recent Publications.

Latest News

  • Catherine Bishop shortlisted for Ashurst Business Literature Prize

    Dr Catherine Bishop’s first book Minding Her Own Business: Colonial Businesswomen in Sydney is one of four books shortlisted for the prestigious Ashurst Business Literature Prize.

  • Trafficking Past Exploring sex, work and migration in modern history

    The Global History of Trafficking website is now up. For more information on this new AHRC-funded project, and collaboration between Birkbeck and UCL, with the Laureate Research Program in International History, check this link!

  • Call for Papers: Rethinking the World Order: International Law and International Relations at the End of the First World War

    The horrors of the Great War and the desire for peace shaped scholarship in International Law and International Relations (IR) during the late 1910s—a stimulating time for both disciplines. The two-day interdisciplinary workshop will be held at the European Studies Centre (ESC) at St Antony’s College, Oxford from 31 August to 1 September 2017. We invite abstracts from early career researchers and advanced postgraduate students in history, law, IR and other related disciplines to share their research in a multi-disciplinary environment. Please submit your proposal (including a title, 300 words abstract, and a short bio) by 31 March 2017.

  • Isabel Crawford: FASS Honours Research Fellow in History/Laureate Program in International History

    Isabel Crawford is the worthy recipient of a FASS Honours Research Fellowship in 2017. Over the coming year, she plans to research the role played by women within the UN in the 1990s, focusing on the development of gender-conscious approaches to human security.

  • Scales of Economy Workshop Report

    Held in July 2016, the workshop focused on the historical investigation of spaces in which economic cultures arise and which shape economic thought, the transmission of culture in terms of consumption, global trade and the facilitation of the circulation of ideas and topical information. The larger context of this project is the interrogation of the history of globalisation.

  • International Research Award in Global History 2016 Award to Tehila Sasson

    The Universities of Basel, Heidelberg and Sydney are proud to announce that Dr. Tehila Sasson is the recipient of the International Research Award in Global History 2016. She receives the award for her proposed conference on "Global Histories of Natural Resources". 

  • Professor Glenda Sluga won ARC Australian Laureate Fellowships

    Professor Glenda Sluga has been awarded one of seventeen ARC Australian Laureate Fellowships just announced by Senator Kim Carr for 2013. The fellowships are designed “for outstanding Australian and international researchers to build Australia’s ability to make new discoveries, pursue innovative studies as well as mentoring early career researchers”.

Latest Events