Departments and Programmes

The School of Social and Political Sciences (SSPS) is one of six schools in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, and consists of the following Departments and Centres:

Our undergraduate and postgraduate programs of study are flexible and complementary, engaging students in emerging contemporary issues as well as enduring concerns in the social and political sciences. Our graduates learn analytical and practical skills that lead them to pursue diverse careers in the public service and non-profit sector, aid and development agencies including the United Nations, a range of non-governmental groups and businesses with a core interest in international trade, teaching, research and the university sector, as well as in journalism and communications, law and legal studies, consultancies and private sector management. Our programs also aim to provide a strong disciplinary grounding as the foundation for those seeking to undertake further study at Honours, Diplomas, Majors or Doctoral levels.

Further information about our undergraduate and postgraduate program structures, the range of units available, and enquiry contact points can be found at the webpages for each Department listed above and from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Future Students website.