What is a Major?
What is a minor?
What majors and minors are available?

What is a "Major"?

A major is an area of specialisation within your course. Upon completion of your selected major you will have a broad understanding of that subject area and the ability to focus on, and carry out further research in that field. The number of majors that you will be able to complete will depend on the undergraduate course that you are enrolled in. The subject area that you choose to major in is indicated on your testamur.

Completion of a major normally constitutes the successful completion of 48 credit points, or 8 units of study, within a specified subject area, or from appropriate electives that the department has indicated it wishes to count towards the major by including them in the unit of study table (see the handbook entries for each major below). There are often core units of study that must be completed within a major, and in most instances enrolment into a higher level unit of study requires the successful completion of 2 units of study at a lower level as a prerequisite, therefore you will need to take care when choosing your subjects.

There are two types of majors available to most students enrolled in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, they are a Table A major which is a requirement, and a Table S major or minor. You will need to check the resolutions of your own course in the Undergraduate Handbook to see how many majors you can do, or are required to do. Useful information and study plans for your course can be found at .

A Table A major is a major in a subject area that is taught within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. In most courses it is compulsory to complete a Table A major. Available Table A majors are listed at the bottom of this page.

A Table S major or minor comes from a collection of majors and minors available to students within the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, but that are taught in other Faculties. Table S majors and minors are listed in the Interdisciplinary Studies Handbook.

What is a minor? ?

All majors have a minor embedded in them, and generally are made up of 36 credit points, or 6 units of study. All liberal studies degrees (Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Commerce) and the specialist degree Bachelor of Economics now require a minor or a second major to be completed.

All of the Table A majors below have corresponding minors, however the standalone minors listed below are unable to be completed as majors. This is worth keeping in mind if you are planning for your Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Advanced Studies enrolment, which requires two majors at the end.

What majors and minors are available?

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences offers a wide range of majors to its students:

Table A Majors Table A Standalone Minors
Agriculture and Resource Economics Australian Literature
American Studies Celtic Studies
Ancient Greek Criminology
Ancient History Diversity Studies
Anthropology Sanskrit
Arabic Language and Cultures Social Policy
Archaeology Writing Studies
Art History  
 Asian Studies  
 Biblical Studies and Classical Hebrew  
 Chinese Studies  
 Cultural Studies  
 Digital Cultures  
 Economic Policy  
 European Studies  
 Film Studies  
 Financial Economics  
 French and Francophone Studies  
 Gender Studies  
 Germanic Studies  
 Global Studies (Available only as a major and only to students admitted into the International and Global Studies stream)  
 Hebrew (modern)  
 Indigenous Studies  
 Indonesian Studies  
 International and Comparative Literary Studies  
 International Relations  
Italian Studies  
Japanese Studies  
Jewish Civilisation, Thought and Culture  
Korean Studies  
Media Studies (Available only as a major and only to students admitted into the Media and Communications stream)  
Modern Greek Studies  
Political Economy  
Socio-legal Studies  
Spanish and Latin American Studies  
Studies in Religion  
Theatre and Performance Studies