FASS Teaching and Learning contacts

Pro-Dean Teaching and Learning

Professor Colm Harmon was appointed the role of Pro-Dean Teaching and Learning in July 2014. In this capacity he will represent the Faculty at SEG and other senior forums, as well as, implement Faculty and University policy in relation to teaching and learning matters, and provide oversight of the portfolio's programs.

Name Telephone Email
Professor Colm Harmon +61 2 9351 5625

Deputy Pro-Dean Teaching and Learning

A/Professor James Curran was appointed the role of Deputy Pro-Dean Teaching and Learning in July 2014. In this capacity he will chair the Faculty's Teaching and Learning Committee and will assist in implementing Faculty and University policy in relation to teaching and learning matters, and provide oversight of the portfolio's programs.

Director Academic Support and Development position is pending.

Name Telephone Email
A/Professor James Curran +61 2 9351 2988 james.b.curran@sydney.edu.au

Sub Dean Student Affairs

Associate Professor Linda Tsung leads the Faculty's FASS Mentoring Program and Arts on Track programs, both designed to support and enrich the student experience. The FASS Mentoring Program connects first year students with student mentors to help them successfully make the transition to university life. Arts on Track is part of the University’s Staying on Track initiative, and is designed to provide Faculty support to students who are not currently meeting the progression requirements in their program of study.

Name Telephone Email
A/Professor Linda Tsung +61 2 9351 2868

Postgraduate Writing Support

Within the teaching and learning portfolio, Drs Bronwen Dyson and Louise Katz provide writing support to the Faculty's postgraduate research and coursework students. Critical thinking and writing skills underpin the core attributes of scholarship, lifelong learning and global citizenship that we aim to pass on to our students through high quality teaching and engagement.

Bronwen Dyson provides one-on-one advice for postgraduate students and teaches two units of study for thesis writers – "Introduction to Thesis Writing" (last offered semester 2 2012), and "Writing a Thesis Chapter" (currently on offer in semester 1 2013). These are both non-award courses for students enrolled in PhD or Masters by research programmes, and can be taken concurrently with a higher degree enrolment.

Louise Katz joined the university in 2009 and currently teaches "FASS7001: Academic English for Postgraduates and FASS7002: Critical Thinking and Persuasive Writing, Faculty-wide unit of study for students enrolled in postgraduate coursework programs. Previously she taught creative writing at the University of Technology.

Writing Support for: Contact Telephone Email
Postgraduate Research Students Dr Bronwen Dyson +61 2 9351 7514
Postgraduate Coursework Students Dr Louise Katz +61 2 9036 5099
Undergraduate Students Dr Susan Thomas
(Director, Writing Hub)
+61 2 9351 2048  

eLearning and Educational Design

The Faculty's Educational Design team are available to offer staff expert advice on effective curriculum design and BlackBoard site optimisation. They can also assist with planning to use other online tools such as PebblePad and Turnitin to develop an effective, efficient and engaging online presence for your unit of study.

Contact Telephone Email
Jubin Dedaniya +61 2 9351 3700
Jennifer Dowling  +61 2 9351 6084
Charles Humblet +61 2 9351 4774
Rebecca Plumbe +61 2 9036 7513
Will Visconti +61 2 9351 3861

Administrative support team

Our dedicated and professional support team helps to coordinate the Faculty's teaching and learning strategic initiatives.

Maegan Baker (Executive Officer) assists the Pro-Dean with strategic planning, communications and budgeting, and provides governance to the Teaching and Learning Committee and eLearning Steering group. She also provides administrative support in the Postgraduate writing programs.

Tanya Doulaveras (Staff Support and Development Officer) supports the eLearning and Academic Support and Development programs. She administers the Teaching Awards and Student commendations as well as First Year Experience website.

Deborah Rodrigo (Student Support Programs Officer) supports the Director of Student Support Programs and coordinates the operational planning and communications of the Student Support Programs area.

Dan Smith (Administrative Officer) provides administrative support in the student support programs.

Name Position Telephone Email
Maegan Baker Executive Officer +61 2 9351 3140  
Deborah Rodrigo Student Support Programs Officer +61 2 9351 6594
Tanya Doulaveras Staff Support and Development Officer +61 2 9114 0632
Dan Smith Administrative Officer +61 2 9351 2950