Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel Instagram

Banking (Master of Commerce)


This information is for continuing students who commenced their study in the degree prior to 2017. New students who commenced from 2017, must follow the structue for this specialiation outlined at or in the Business School Handbook.

The Banking specialisation offers the highest standard of qualifications in the theory and application governing contemporary financial institutions. It includes a detailed examination of the workings of banks and related deposit-taking financial intermediaries in the context of the banking system in particular, and the financial system generally. The core units equip students with an in-depth understanding of the structures and functioning of financial institutions, and issues related to banking in a contemporary, globalised economy. As well as providing the necessary knowledge of bank management, risk management and risk assessment, the Banking specialisation offers intermediate corporate finance, equipping graduates with a well-rounded qualification that is modern, in-depth and competitive.

Why study this specialisation?

Requirements for the specialisation

The following information is for students who commenced study or transferred into the Master of Commerce between 2012 and 2016 or students who commenced study in 2011 and wish to follow these requirements for a specialisation. Pre-2012 students should refer to the information set out below under Information for pre-2012 continuing students.

New Students commencing study in 2017 must follow the requirements for this major set out under or the 2017 Business School Handbook,

To be awarded a specialisation in Banking, students complete five units of study (30 credit points) comprising:

(i) one foundational unit of study (six credit points), as follows:

(ii) three compulsory units of study (18 credit points), as follows:

(iii) one elective unit of study (six credit points), selected from the following unit options:

* These units are no longer offered.

+ This units are not available as elective options for this specialisation for students commencing study from 2017. Students commencing study in 2017 must follow the requirements for this major set out under or the 2017 Business School Handbook.

Note: Non-foundational (advanced) units of study can be used to count to one specialisation only. For example, ACCT6003 cannot be used to count towards both an Accounting and a Banking specialisation.

Information for pre-2012 continuing students

Students who commenced study in the Master of Commerce in 2011 may choose to complete their specialisation according to the information set out above or can choose to complete according to the information set out in the following downloadable PDF which lists the 2011 structure. Students should also refer to the handbook of the year they commenced study for exact details of their specialisation requirement.

Students who commenced their degree before 2011 (in old Master of Commerce), should follow the requirements for the Major in Banking as set out in the handbook of the year they commenced study.

Availability of this specialisation

This version of this specialisation is available under the following degrees:

  • Master of Commerce

Students enrolled in the Graduate Diploma in Commerce or the Graduate Certificate in Commerce may choose units from this specialisation subject area as electives in their course.