Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel

2010 Seminars

Fri 5th March - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Mark Seasholes, HKUST

Title:

Venture Capital Distrinutions, Stock Price Reactions, and Information Incorporation

Fri 12th March - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Abhishek Das, USyd

Title:

Detecting Fraudulent Performance Reporting by Hedge Fund Managers

Thu 18th March - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Dirk Hackbarth, University of Illinois

Title:

Optimal Priority Structure, Capital Structure, and Investment *

Fri 19th March - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Steve Satchell, Trinity College, Cambridge University

Title:

Issues with Smoothed Financial Data, A TAR Approach to Hedge Fund and to Real Estate Return Unsmoothing

Fri 16th April - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Ron Kaniel, Fuqua School of Business Duke University and CEPR

Title:

Equilibrium Prices in the Presence of Delegated Portfolio Management

Fri 23rd April - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Ilan Guedj, UT Austin

Title:

Are ETFs Replacing Index Mutual Funds?

Fri 30th April - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Allaudeen Hameed, National University of Singapore

Title:

Industries and Stock Return Reversals

Fri 7th May - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Peter Pham, The University of Sydney

Title:

Do Private Equity Managers Strategically Inflate Performance? Evidence from Sequential Fund Raisings

Fri 14th May - 10:30 am

Speaker:

FengHua Song, Penn State University

Title:

Do Credit Rating Agencies Underestimate Liquidity Risk?

Fri 21st May - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Thomas McInish, University of Memphis

Title:

Worldwide short selling: Regulations and activity

Fri 28th May - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Masahiro Watanabe, University of Alberta

Title:

Procyclical Stocks Earn Higher Returns

Fri 4th June - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Zhi Da, University of Notre Dame

Title:

Decomposing Short-Term Return Reversal

Fri 11th June - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Stephen Brown, Stern School of Business, NYU

Title:

Trust and Delegation

Fri 23rd July - 10:30 am

Speaker:

Hong Zhang, INSEAD

Title:

Mutual Fund Flow Timing and External Growth

Fri 6th August - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Ekkehart Boehmer, John B. Rogers Professor of Banking and Finance
Charles H. Lundquist School of Business
University of Oregon

Title:

What do short sellers know?

Wed 11th August - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Byoung U. Kang, School of Accounting and Finance, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Title:

Multiscale Explanations of the Size and Value Premia

Fri 20th August - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Eric Hughson, Don and Lorraine Freeberg Professor of Economics and Finance; Claremont McKenna College

Title:

Funding Constraints, Market Liquidity, and Financial Crises: Lessons from an Historical Experiment

Wed 22nd September - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Anna Scherbina, Davis Graduate School of Management; University of California

Title:

Real Estate Prices during the Roaring Twenties and the Great Depression

Fri 1st October - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Kasper Meisner Nielsen, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Title:

What Death Can Tell: Are Executives Paid for Their Contributions to Firm Value?

Fri 29th October - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Wayne Ferson, University of Southern California

Title:

Alpha and Performance Measurement: The Effect of Investor Heterogeneity

Fri 19th November - 11:00 am

Speaker:

Kalok Chan, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Title:

When the Tail Wags the Dog: Industry Leaders, Limited Attention and Spurious Cross-Industry Information Diffusion