Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel

2012 Seminars

Fri 17th February - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Marco Wilkens, University of Augsburg

Title:

The Pricing Policy of Banks on the German Secondary Market for Leverage Certificates: Interday and Intraday Effects

Fri 16th March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Seng Xiao, University of Minnesota

Title:

How important is the industry experience of independent directors?

Fri 23rd March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Jongmoo Jay Choi, Temple University, Philadelphia

Title:

Labor as a monitor of the CEO: A Power Game of Outsourcing

Tue 27th March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Tarun Chordia, Emory University of Atlanta

Title:

Buyers versus Sellers: Who Initiates Trades and When?

Fri 6th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Heitor Almeida, University of Illinois Urbana

Title:

Credit Lines as Monitored Liquidity Insurance, Theory and Evidence

Fri 20th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Eliza Wu, University of Technology, Sydney

Title:

Characterizing Global Financial and Economic Integration through Analyst Forecast

Thu 26th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Emir Hrnjić, National University of Singapore

Title:

Investor Sentiment and Seasoned Equity Offerings

Fri 27th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Jialan Wang, Washington University of St.Louis

Title:

Liquidity Constraints and Consumer Bankruptcy: Evidence from Tax Rebates

Fri 4th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Breno Schmidt, Goizueta Business School, Emory University Atlanta

Title:

Co-Insurance in Mutual Fund Families

Fri 11th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Roberto Gutierrez Jr., University of Oregon

Title:

The Aggregate Information in Unexpected Media Coverage of Firms' Earnings Reports

Fri 18th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Gjergji Cici, College of William and Mary, Virginia

Title:

The Valuation of Hedge Funds' Equity Positions

Fri 25th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Byoung-Hyoun Hwang, Perdue University, Indiana

Title:

Customers as Advisor: The Role of Social Media in Financial Markets

Fri 1st June - 11:30 pm

Speaker:

Josephine Smith, Stern School of Business, New York University

Title:

The Term Structure of Money Market Spreads During the Financial Crisis

Fri 8th June - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Miles Livingston, University of Florida

Title:

The Value of a Third Opinion: Split Ratings, Information Opacity and Fitch Ratings

Fri 17th August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Fernando Zapatero, Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California

Title:

Labor Income, Relative Wealth Concerns, and the Cross-section of Stock Returns

Fri 31st August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Chu Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Title:

Analyst Forecasts, Errors-in-expectations, and the Value Premium

Tue 11th September - 11:15 am

Speaker:

Professor Henk Berkman, Business School, University of Auckland New Zealand

Title:

Informed Trading through the Accounts of Children

Fri 14th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Stephan Siegel, University of Washington

Title:

Why Do Individuals Exhibit Investment Biases?

Tue 18th September - 11:15 am

Speaker:

Robert Webb, Business School, University of Virginia USA

Title:

Asymmetric and negative return-volatility relationship: the case of the VKOSPI

Fri 21st September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Robert Kosowski, Imperial College London UK

Title:

Momentum Strategies in Futures Markets and Trend-following Funds

Wed 26th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Clifton Green, Goizueta Business School, Emory University Atlanta USA

Title:

Access to Management and the Informativeness of Analyst Research

Fri 5th October - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Shawn Mobbs, Culverhouse College of Commerce University of Alabama, USA

Title:

Director Experience

Tue 23rd October - 11:15 am

Speaker:

David Smith, The McIntire Center for Financial Innovation

Title:

Private Equity and the Resolution of Financial Distress

Fri 2nd November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Matti Keloharju; Juhani T. Linnainmaa; Peter Nyberg, School of Business Aalto University, Finland

Title:

The Sum of All Seasonalities

Fri 16th November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Praveen Kumar, Bauer College of Business, University of Houston, USA

Title:

Innovative Capacity and the Asset Growth Anomaly

Fri 23rd November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Vikas Mehrotra, University of Alberta, Canada

Title:

Exit and Transitions in Family Firms in Post-War Japan

Fri 7th December - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Juhani Linnainmaa, University of Chicago - Booth School of Business

Title:

The Unpriced Side of Value