Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel

2013 Seminars

Fri 25th January -

Speaker:

Antonio Miguel, ISCTE Universitaro de Lisboa Portugal

Title:

What Explains Mutual Fund Performance Persistence? International Evidence.

Fri 25th January - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Antonio F. Miguel, Lisbon University Institute

Title:

Testing the Berk and Green model around the world

Fri 15th February - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Chelsea Yaqiong Yao, Faculty of Economics & Business, University of Melbourne

Title:

Momentum Profits and Microeconomic Risk: Revisited

Fri 22nd February - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Andrew J. Patton, Duke University, North Carolina USA

Title:

Change You Can Believe In? Hedge Fund Data Revisions

Fri 8th March - 12:30 am

Speaker:

PhD student Jiag (George) Wang, University of Melbourne (Booked for Graham Partington)

Title:

On Market States and the Value of the Actively Managed Mutual Fund Industry

Fri 8th March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

George Jiaguo Wang, University of Melbourne,

Title:

On Market States and the Value of the Actively Managed Mutual Fund Industry

Fri 22nd March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Cary Frydman, University of Southern California Marshall School of Business Los Angeles USA

Title:

Using Neural Data to Test a Theory of Investor Behavior: An Application to Realization Utility

Tue 26th March - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Jonathan Karpoff, Foster School of Business University of Washington USA

Title:

The economics of bribery: Evidence from FCPA enforcement actions

Fri 5th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Prabhala Nagpurnanand, University of Maryland USA

Title:

Customized Mutual Fund Peers

Fri 12th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Nandini Srivastava, Christ's College, University of Cambridge

Title:

Some Dynamic Models of UK Art Market Prices and their Dependence on UK Equity Prices

Fri 19th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Simon Gervais, Duke University North Carolina USA

Title:

The Industrial Organization of Money Management

Fri 26th April - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Adlai Fisher, University of British Columbia Vancouver USA

Title:

Leveraged Noise and the Limits of Arbitrage Pricing: Implications for Dividend Strips and the Term Structure of Equity Risk Premia

Fri 3rd May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Seoyoung Kim, Santa Clara University California USA

Title:

Credit Spreads with Dynamic Debt

Fri 10th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Slava Fos,

Title:

Do prices reveal the presence of informed trading?

Tue 14th May - 11:15 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Maros Servátka, University of Canterbury, Christchurch New Zealand

Title:

Experimental Methods in Economics and Finance Research

Fri 17th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Alexi Savov, Stern New York University USA

Title:

Have Financial Markets Become More Informative?

Tue 21st May - 11:20 am

Speaker:

Dr Jongmoo Jay Choi, Temple University, Department of Finance

Title:

Cash Holdings in Private and Public Firms: Evidence from Europe

Fri 24th May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Emilio Osambela, Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh USA

Title:

Disagreement, Speculation, and Aggregate Investmen

Fri 31st May - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Vivian Fang, Carlson School of Management University of Minnesota USA

Title:

Equity Vesting and Managerial Myopia

Fri 14th June - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Chair and Professor Alexandra Niessen-Ruenzi, University Mannheim Germany

Title:

What is in a Name? Mutual Fund Flows When Managers Have Foreign-Sounding Name

Fri 21st June - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Chair and Professor Stefan Ruenzi, University Mannheim Germany

Title:

Crash Sensitivity and the Cross-Section of Expected Stock Returns & Extreme Downside Liquidity Risk

Thu 27th June - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Geert Bekaert, Columbia Business School USA

Title:

Asset Return Dynamics under Habits and Bad-environment-Good Environment Fundamentals

Fri 28th June - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Vikas Agarwal, Georgia State University Atlanta USA

Title:

Mandatory portfolio disclosure and stock, and Mutual Fund Performance liquidity

Fri 2nd August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Assistant Professor Mike Simuntin, University of Toronto Canada

Title:

Plan Sponsor Oversight and Benchmarking: Effects on Fund Risk-taking and Activeness

Fri 9th August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Andrew Ainsworth ; Adrian D. Lee,

Title:

The Influence of Individual Investors on Ex-Dividend Returns

Wed 14th August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Chu Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Title:

Unenforced or Flawed? The Case of China's Regulation on Insider Trading of Unlocked Restricted Stocks

Mon 19th August - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Dr Motohiro Yogo, Federal Reserve Bank of Minnesota USA

Title:

The Cost of Financial Frictions for Life Insurers

Thu 5th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Paul Dunmore, Massey University, Wellington New Zealand

Title:

Some Models for the Evolution of Financial Statement Data

Fri 6th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Assistant Professor Mark Maffett, University of Chicago USA

Title:

"Default Prediction Around the World: The Effect of Constraints on Pessimistic Trading"

Tue 10th September - 11:15 am

Speaker:

Dr Thomas McInish, The University of Memphis, USA

Title:

Reverse Splits: Misfortune or Complex Shenanigans

Fri 13th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

PhongT. H. Ngo, College of Business and Economics, ANU Canberra

Title:

How to break bad news: Strategic corporate press releases and media coverage around earnings announcements

Fri 20th September - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Assistant Professor Jerry Cao, Singapore Management University

Title:

Patent and Innovation-Driven Performance in Venture Capital-Backed IPOs

Fri 4th October - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Ralph Walkling, Drexel University Philadelphia USA

Title:

The Price of Street Friends: Social Networks, Informed Trading, and Shareholder Costs

Fri 11th October - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Ran Duchin, Universtiy of Washington

Title:

"Looking in the Rear View Mirror: The Effect of Managers' Professional Experience on Corporate Financial Policy"

Fri 18th October - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Jun Yang, Indiana University Bloomington USA

Title:

An Empirical Examination of Executive Signing Bonuses: An Incentive Mechanism

Fri 25th October - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Bill Wilhelm, University of Virginia USA

Title:

Investment-Banking Relationships: 1933-2007

Thu 7th November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Yaxuan Qi, City University of Hong Kong

Title:

Can Bankruptcy Laws Mitigate Business Cycles? Evidence from Creditor Rights, Debt Financing and Investment

Fri 8th November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Professor Mariassunta Giannetti, Stockholm School of Economics Sweden

Title:

Compensation and Competition for Talent: Talent Scarcity or Incentives

Fri 15th November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Huasheng Gao, Nanyang Technological University Singapore

Title:

"Ownership Concentration and CEO Pay-Performance Sensitivity: New Evidence from Privately-Held Firms"

Fri 22nd November - 11:30 am

Speaker:

Associate Professor Angie Low, Nanyang Technological University Singapore

Title:

The dark side of outside directors: Do they quit ahead of trouble?"