Chinh Ho, doctoral candidate at ITLS, wins prestigious Michael Beesley Award for best workshop paper at Thredbo 13 Conference

19 Sep 2013

L-R: Professor Jackie Walters (Chair, Michael Beesley Award
Committee), Chinh Ho and David Hensher

L-R: Professor Jackie Walters (Chair, Michael Beesley Award
Committee), Andrea Rizvi and David Hensher

Professor Michael Beesley was one of the most influential transport economists of his time. He was the co-founder (with Professor David Hensher) of the Thredbo conference series. In 2005 the conference series' International Steering Committee established the Michael Beesley Award to pay tribute to his memory. The award recognises the best workshop paper presented at the conference by a person in the early stages of their career (first ten years).

At the Thredbo 13 Conference the Michael Beesley Award was won by ITLS doctoral candidate Chinh Ho for his paper "Metrobuses in Sydney: how high capacity and high frequency services are benefiting the metropolitan fringe" (with Corinne Mulley). Honourable mention went to Andrea Rizvi, Department of Urban Planning, Columbia University, USA for her paper "Implementing Bus Rapid Transit: A tale of two Indian cities" (with Elliott Sclar).