David Hensher wins Smart 2013 Premier Award

28 Jun 2013

Professor David Hensher, founder and Director of the Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies at the University of Sydney Business School, has been honoured with the Smart 2013 Premier Award for Excellence at a gala dinner on Thursday, 27 June.

The award, which is presented once every two years, recognises an individual's outstanding contribution to the profession of supply chain management in Australia. Described as the "Gold Logie in Supply Chain Management", it is the most prestigious industry award in that field.

"I am extremely proud to have been selected for this award," Professor Hensher said. "It is very exciting to be recognised by the industry that I am so passionately involved in, with an award as prestigious as this. One need only look at the list of previous winners to understand the significance of this award. To now be included on that list is truly an honour."

Selection for the SMART Premier Award for Excellence is carried out by the SMART Awards Committee, chaired by Allan A. Murray CSM. It is awarded to an individual who as "more than 10 years in Procurement, Supply Chain or Logistics, has made a significant contribution to their field, and has demonstrated innovation and creativity (other than the traditional supply chain improvements), including business model innovation, innovative ways to reach new markets and creating opportunities for people engaged in supply chain management."

Presenting the award to Professor Hensher, Mr Murray stated that "our award recipient for 2013 conducted research at Oxford University in the 1970s that remains influential today, founded Australia's key centre for teaching and research in transport management and now offers postgraduate qualifications to the industry, and is a significant contributor to public debate on transport management within NSW."

Previous recipients of the award are:

2011: Air Vice Marshall Marg Staib AM, CSC, Chief of Joint Logistics Command
2009: Lindsay Fox AO, Founder & Director of Linfox
2007: Roger Corbett, CEO of Woolworths Ltd
2005: Keith Campbell OAM, National President of LAA
2003: Chris Corrigan, MD of Patricks Corp
2001: Dr John Gattorna, Managing Partner at Accenture
1999: Major General Des Mueller AO, Vice Chief of Defence Force
1997: Gerry Hatton, MD of Mannesman Dematic Colby
1995: John David, MD of David's Holdings