Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel


You can tailor the Master of Commerce program to achieve the level of study required for a particular professional accreditation. The following accreditation options are available:

Professional accreditation in accounting

Students seeking associate membership of CPA Australia or the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia (ICAA) should complete the Master of Professional Accounting which is accredited by both CPA Australia and the ICAA. Depending on their choice of units of study, however, students enrolled in the Masters of Commerce program may also be able to cover the core knowledge foundation areas required for associate membership of CPA Australia or the ICAA.

Selection of the following units of study is suggested to maximise the coverage of the foundation core knowledge areas that are required by the two main professional accounting bodies in Australia:

Required knowledge areaSubject code Subject's name

Accounting information systems


Designing Accounting Systems

Accounting systems and processes


Accounting Principles

Accounting theory


Intermediate Financial Reporting

Audit and assurance

ACCT6007 #

Contemporary Issues in Auditing

Commercial law CLAW5001 Legal Environment of Business
Corporations law CLAW6002 Corporate Structures in Practice
Economics BUSS5001 Firms, Markets and Business Management
Finance FINC5001 Capital Markets and Corporate Finance
Financial accounting ACCT6001 AND
Intermediate Financial Reporting AND
Advanced Financial Reporting
Management accounting ACCT5002 Management Accounting and Decision Making
Quantitative methods QBUS5001 OR
Quantitative Methods for Business OR
Principles of Econometrics
Taxation CLAW6026# Taxation Law and Practice

 # Note: CPA Australia allows graduates the option of completing auditing and taxation units as part of their degree at university,or as electives in their professional level studies within the CPA program.

Note: Students enrolled in the 16 unit Master of Commerce can complete all the required units of study covering the core knowledge areas to meet the joint accreditation requirements for CPA Australia and the ICAA, depending on the area(s) of specialisation, and electives units of study, they select.

As recent changes have occurred in the foundation core knowledge area requirements of both professional bodies, students should check each of the ICAA and CPA Australia websites for current requirements for associate membership and further professional program requirements to achieve CA or CPA status. In addition, they can seek advice from the CPA/ICAA accreditation liaison officer in the Discipline of Accounting. For further information regarding accreditation with these professional accounting bodies, please refer to the accredited course information on their respective websites:

Preparation for Certified Financial Advisor (CFA) Exams

The learning content offered in the Finance specialisation has considerable overlap with Levels I, II and III of the CFA and assists with preparation for the external CFA exams. The following units of study are especially relevant to students wishing to take the CFA exams:

  • FINC5001 Capital Markets and Corporate Finance
  • FINC6001 Intermediate Corporate Finance
  • FINC6009 Portfolio Theory and its Applications
  • FINC6010 Derivative Securities
  • FINC6014 Fixed Income Securities
  • FINC6017 Mergers and Acquisitions
  • FINC6021 Corporate Valuation
  • FINC6022 Behavioural Finance
  • FINC6023 Risk Management