Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Outstanding teaching recognised

28 Mar 2011

A new crop of outstanding academic staff have been recognised for excellence in the annual University of Sydney Business School Teaching and Tutoring Awards.

The 2010 Wayne Lonergan Outstanding Teaching Award (Early Career) has been awarded to Dr Dmytro Matsypura (Operations Management and Econometrics)

The selection panel noted that Dmytro demonstrated a strong commitment to the highest quality student learning experience. The panel especially commended his commitment to mentoring tutors.

The panel acknowledged with gratitude Dmytro Matsypura's outstanding dedication to supporting and enhancing his students' learning experience, his commitment to scholarly teaching, his innovative teaching methods and his considered approach to research-led teaching. Dymtro was commended for providing leadership in learning and teaching in our Business School. 

Two winners of the 2010 Business School Awards for Excellence in Tutoring have also been announced.

Garth Tarr (Operations Management and Econometrics) and Linda Matula (Centre for International Security Studies) were recognised by the Selection Panel for their clear underlying philosophy relating to the purpose of their tutorials and clear strategies to assist their students to achieve related outcomes.

The Selection Panel commended Garth Tarr on presenting a holistic, coherent application, and on his contribution not only to the unit itself but to the School as a whole. The panel acknowledged his work in the area of Maths Workshops and Knowing Your Students project as well as an innovative approach to experimenting with different forms of feedback, particularly in providing detailed feedback to students on their exams.

The Selection Panel was impressed with Linda Matula's creative and innovative strategies that she used to engage and challenge her students and particularly her use of debates. Linda was commended for her valued contribution to assisting fellow tutors in various ways and her ongoing commitment to professional development.

Acting Dean of the University of Sydney Business School, Professor Tyrone Carlin, said: "Our tutors are at the forefront of our students' learning experience. The Business School Awards for Excellence in Tutoring are an important opportunity to recognise the critical role each of our tutors play in supporting our students to achieve unit and program learning outcomes."

Professor Carlin also announced the following recipients of the Dean's Citations for Teaching for Semester 2, 2010.

These citations are awarded to Units of Study and their teaching teams who score very highly on three key indicators of teaching performance in the USE: item 2 (Good Teaching), item 3 (Generic Skills or Graduate Attributes) and item 12 (Overall Satisfaction).

  • Catherine Welch - IBUS6008, Export Management, International Business
  • David Kim - ECOS3902 Advanced Macroeconomics Honours, Economics
  • Donnel Briley - MKTG6013 International and Global Marketing, Marketing
  • Paul Priday - MKTG6006 Creative Communications in Marketing, Marketing
  • Peter Lok - TPTM6260 International Logistics, Institute of Transport and Logistics Studies
  • Reuben Segara - FINC6003 Broking and Market Making, Finance
  • Sarah Phillips - CISS6006 Statebuilding and Fragile States, Centre for International Security Studies
  • Shanie Atkinson - IBUS6013 Entrepreneurial Restructuring & Renewal, International Business

The award recipients were all selected from a number of worthy nominees by the Chair of the Learning and Teaching Committee, Associate Dean (Learning & Teaching) Michelle Scoufis, and a panel of Business School colleagues.