Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel Instagram

Business School strengthens links with world's oldest tertiary institution

27 Nov 2013

The University of Sydney Business School and Italy's University of Bologna have moved to further strengthen their relationship under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) aimed at providing research and study opportunities for the staff and the students of the two institutions.

One of Australia's leading authorities on public sector and police employment law, Giuseppe Carabetta, who is a Senior Lecturer in the Business School's Discipline of Business Law, recently facilitated a seminar for academics and students in the University of Bologna Department of Law and Sociology.

During the seminar titled "Police Collective Bargaining & Models of Arbitration: What Works?", Carabetta encouraged discussion on the differences between the Australian and Italian approaches to labour law, collective bargaining and the ILO, and the impact on our respective police services.

"While Italy obviously has a very different legal system, different political institutions and the like, there are still lessons to be drawn from the contemporary experiences of both countries," Giuseppe said. "I hope my visit continues to grow this important partnership."

Undertaken at the invitation of Professor Federica Farneti, who is with University of Bologna's, Department of Law and Sociology, this was Giuseppe's third such visit to the world's oldest continuously functioning tertiary institution. 

The relationship between Sydney and Bologna has also allowed for visits to the Bologna Department of Law and Sociology by business law lecturer Barbara Mescher and accounting lecturer Dr John Dumay

In addition to the two year old MOU, the University of Sydney Business School is tied to the University of Bologna through the joint European Union - Australian Government funded Joint Mobility Scholarships for students studying aspects of business sustainability, which also includes universities in Prague and Salford as well as the University of South Australia and Curtin University.