Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel Instagram

Governor-General appoints alumnus Mark Fraser as his new official secretary

16 Jul 2014

Professor Richard Hall, Associate Dean (Management Education) has congratulated alumnus Mr Mark Fraser LVO OAM on his appointment as the Governor-General's new official secretary.

Governor-General Peter Cosgrove said he was delighted to have Mr Fraser as his official secretary.

"I am looking forward to drawing on Mark's considerable protocol, governance and management experience, and his global outlook and contemporary approach to leadership in the public sector", he said.

In 2013 Mr Fraser graduated with the third cohort of the Business School's Global Executive MBA program, Australia's highest ranked program of its kind.

"We are incredibly proud of Mark's achievements and delighted with his appointment as Official Secretary to the Governor-General," Professor Hall said. "Mark was an outstanding contributor to our Global Executive MBA and really does exemplify so many of the qualities we seek to develop in our graduates in our leadership programs".

"The Global Executive MBA pushes the boundaries of traditional thinking and has given me new perspectives and a new outlook on leadership," said Mr Fraser reflecting on his leadership education experience at the Business School. "Being exposed to some of the best global thinking and ideas throughout the program will continue to help me shape the Governor-General's term of office and outcomes".

Mr Fraser will bring to the role 20 years of public sector experience, including 5 years as the Governor-General's deputy secretary, and his work as the consul-general in the Netherlands (2004-2007) and consul in Turkey (1998-2001). As incoming secretary, he has experience in major event planning, including the Anzac Day commemoration in Turkey, and was awarded an Order of Australia medal (OAM) for his role in crisis response management following the Bali bombings.

Mr Fraser will also serve as secretary to the Council for the Order of Australia, and the Australian Bravery Decorations Council.