The five founding members of BESRG are researchers from various disciplines in the USBS: Steve Elliot (Business Information Systems), Geoff Frost (Accounting), Stephen Greaves (Transport and Logistics), Stewart Jones (Accounting), and Christopher Wright (Work and Organisational Studies).

The foundation director is Steve Elliot.

The initial areas of research focus are:

  • Accounting for the impact of emissions trading on organisational performance (Frost and Jones)
  • Facilitating public transport to reduce carbon emissions (Greaves)
  • Organisational change initiatives by Australian corporations in response to climate change (Wright)
  • Sustainable technology-enabled business innovation facilitating business responses (Elliot)