Find us on Facebook Find us on LinkedIn Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Mark Burrows AO

Adjunct Professor
Executive Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Asia Pacific
Credit Suisse Investment Bank

Mark Burrows returned to investment banking after a short retirement in 2011 and is the Managing Director and Vice Chairman, Global Investment Banking Credit Suisse.

Mark Burrows has recently been appointed as Senior Advisor to the United Nations Environment Programme. In this role, Mr. Burrows will look at financing sustainable growth. This has come after much work in relation to Green Bonds on the Forests Asia Summit in Jakarta in May 2014 and involvement in the African Forests Summit in June 2014.

Mark Burrows has a long and distinguished career starting as an Analyst for Barings in London in 1970 after the University in Sydney. He was Executive Chairman of the iconic investment advisory bank Baring Brothers Burrows in Sydney in 1999 and then Managing Director and Executive Deputy Chairman on ING Barings to 2004 before returning to Australia to start Lazard's advisory business.

During his long career, Mr. Burrows was the principal advisor to some of the most significant and transformational corporate and government transactions in Australasia. His primary expertise is banking, media and mining and he has advised governments and the IMF on sovereign debt reconstruction in emerging markets principally in Argentina. He has served as a Non-Executive Director on a large number of companies in the United Kingdom, United States and Australasia, most notably as the Chairman / Deputy Chairman of Brambles, Fairfax Media and Telstra.

Mr. Burrows has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public policy in Australia. He led the development of Australia's national uniform corporate law which led to the creation of the Australian Securities Commission. He also co-authored the framework for the Australian system of compulsory superannuation. He has attended the B20 Summits in Toronto, Seoul, Cannes, Los Cabos and St Petersburg as a member of the Finance Taskforce. He is a member of the Australian B20 Leadership Group for the G20/B20 in Australia in 2014.

Mr. Burrows is an author, dendrologist, environmentalist and gardener. He was awarded the Order of Australia for his contribution to public policy and also to the arts in Australia particularly through his Chairmanship of the Sydney Theatre Company and the Museum of Contemporary Art during a time of fundamental change in those organisations.