Kingsley Laffer Memorial Lecture

Creating jobs in the age of disruption

Jennifer Westacott

Jennifer Westacott has been Chief Executive of the Business Council of Australia since 2011, bringing extensive policy experience in both the public and private sectors.

For over 20 years Jennifer occupied critical leadership positions in the New South Wales and Victorian governments. She was the Director of Housing and the Secretary of Education in Victoria, and most recently was the Director-General of the New South Wales Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Natural Resources. From 2005 to 2011 Jennifer was senior partner at KPMG.

Since 2013, Jennifer has been a Non-Executive Director of Wesfarmers Limited and Chair of the Mental Health Council of Australia.


Date: Thursday 13 August 2015

Time: 5:45pm - 7:30pm

Venue: The University of Sydney
Darlington Centre
174 City Road
Sydney NSW 2000

View in a larger map


T +61 2 9036 7198


About Kingsley Laffer

Kingsley Laffer was the founding father of industrial relations at the University of Sydney and a pioneer of teaching and research in Australian industrial relations. At the time of his retirement from the University of Sydney in 1976, he was Associate Professor and Head of the Department of Industrial Relations within the Faculty of Economics. Kingsley was the founding editor of the Journal of Industrial Relations for 18 years. He also helped establish the Industrial Relations Society of NSW, which later became a national organisation.

Born in Western Australia on 28 February 1911, Kingsley Laffer became an external student of Economics at the University of Western Australia while working in the country. He was the first external student to be awarded the Hackett Bursary. After graduating with first class honours, he taught briefly at the University of Melbourne and then joined the University of Sydney in 1944. He was a member of the academic staff at Sydney for more than three decades. After his retirement, Kingsley became the first Fellow of the Nepean College of Advanced Education (now part of the University of Western Sydney) where he helped develop academic programs in industrial relations.