Senior Executive Group

As at 1 January 2016

The authority vested by the statutes of the University in the person of the Vice-Chancellor is exercised through the University’s Senior Executive Group (SEG). Operating within a context set by the Senate, the Senate’s rules and in particular its delegations of decision-making authority to officers of the University, SEG’s terms of reference are to:

  • oversee the implementation of the University’s strategic plan
  • account to Senate for the financial and academic viability and sustainability of the University
  • protect and enhance the position and reputation of the University
  • oversee performance monitoring and improvement, regulatory compliance and quality assurance processes
  • maintain the University’s risk register and ensure appropriate risk mitigation within the context of the overall Risk Framework
  • oversee the University’s curriculum, teaching, research and research training, in conjunction with the Academic Board
  • oversee the University’s human resources management and capability planning
  • review the University’s budget prior to its presentation for Senate approval
  • prioritise digital and physical infrastructure projects
  • oversee, in conjunction with the Academic Board, the programs of faculty reviews conducted jointly by the Curriculum and Course Planning Committee and the Academic Board
  • review and approve SEG committee and divisional board recommendations regarding policies, procedures, programs and initiatives
  • negotiate compacts with divisions regarding their research and teaching excellence strategies.

SEG’s membership comprises:

  • the Vice-Chancellor (chair)
  • all deputy vice-chancellors
  • all vice-principals
  • the Chair of the Academic Board
  • proportional representation of each of the seven academic divisions (including the dean of each of the University’s 16 faculties).

A number of senior members of staff routinely attend SEG meetings to assist with the conduct of its business and with the communication and implementation of its decisions.

SEG’s decision-making is underpinned by a number of committees and divisional boards that undertake detailed analysis and planning in particular areas of expertise and interest. The work of these committees and divisional boards intersects at many points.

SEG committees

The SEG committees focus on key University-wide themes, such as education and research training, finance and infrastructure, and curriculum and course planning. They provide expert, high-level strategic advice to SEG, and engage SEG members, along with other experts, in the detailed preparation of matters for SEG consideration.

There are 15 SEG committees:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Strategy and Services Committee
  • Alumni, Development and Marketing Committee
  • Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology Board
  • Colleges Consultative Committee
  • Cultural Resources Committee
  • Curriculum and Course Planning Committee
  • Disability Action Plan Committee
  • Education Committee
  • Finance and Infrastructure Committee
  • Human Resources and Equity Committee
  • International Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Research Training Committee
  • Strategic Priority Areas for Collaboration Committee
  • Work Health and Safety Committee.

More information about the membership and terms of reference of SEG and its committees is available at