University Executive

As at 1 January 2017

The University Executive (UE) imakes recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor in the exercise of his delegated authority for University-wide planning, decision-making and oversight. It reports to Senate on the prosecution and management of initiatives under the University’s strategic plan, and on the academic and financial health of the University.

The UE's terms of reference are to:

  • make recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor in the exercise of his delegated authority for University-wide decision making and management oversight for the institution
  • identify emerging opportunities and assess fit with University strategy.
  • protect and enhance the position and reputation of the University.
  • oversee the initiatives of the University’s strategic plan.
  • report to Senate on the financial and academic viability and sustainability of the University, including review the University’s budget prior to its presentation for Senate approval.
  • oversee performance monitoring and improvement, regulatory compliance and quality assurance processes.
  • oversee the University’s curriculum, teaching, research and research training, in conjunction with the Academic Board.
  • maintain oversight of the University’s compliance with WH&S legislation, policies and procedures.
  • oversee the University’s risk management framework including:
    - agreement and ongoing review of the University’s Risk Appetite and Tolerance statement
    - ongoing review of the institutional risk register to ensure appropriate management of risk and
    - reviewing and determining appropriate mitigation strategies for escalated risks from other portfolios.
  • oversee the University’s human resources management and capability planning across human resources, digital and physical portfolios.
  • oversee University investment in infrastructure:
    - endorse the business cases for investment and
    - endorse annual capital prioritisation for infrastructure and technology
  • oversee, in conjunction with the Academic Board, the programs of faculty reviews conducted jointly by the University Executive and the Academic Board
  • note the decisions made by University Executive Committees and review and approve any matters referred by University Executive committees regarding policies, procedures, programs and initiatives
  • ensure the effective communication of University Executive decisions to University leaders and the broader University community.

The UE’s membership comprises:

  • the Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
  • all Deputy Vice-Chancellors
  • all Vice-Principals
  • the Chair of the Academic Board
  • representation of the University’s faculties and schools.

A number of senior members of staff routinely attend UE meetings to assist with the conduct of its business and the communication and implementation of its decisions.

The UE’s decision-making is underpinned by a number of committees that undertake detailed analysis and planning in particular areas of expertise and interest. The work of these committees intersects at many points.


The UE committees focus on key University-wide themes, such as education and research, finance and curriculum and course planning. They provide expert, high-level strategic advice to UE, and engage UE members, along with other experts, in the detailed preparation of matters for UE consideration.

The committees are:

  • Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology Board
  • Centre in China Steering Committee
  • Colleges Consultative Committee
  • Curriculum and Course Planning Committee
  • Education Committee
  • Faculty General Managers Committee
  • Financial Performance Committee
  • Heads of School Committee
  • Indigenous Strategy and Services Committee
  • Operations Committee
  • Reporting and Analytics Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Research Education Committee
  • Strategic Priority Areas for Collaboration Committee
  • Strategy Governance Board and its Program Control Boards
  • Student Consultative Committee
  • Student Life Committee
  • Work Health and Safety Committee.