Seminar programs for Semester 2, 2015 will be announced before the semester commences

Seminar Programs in Semester One 2015

RESEARCH SEMINARS IN CLASSICS AND ANCIENT HISTORY

Papers are held in the Conference Room of the Centre for Classical and Near Eastern Studies of Australia, in the Madsen Building on Eastern Avenue (at the City Road end), in the University’s Camperdown Campus

Papers are followed by light refreshments.

All are welcome.

For further information, please contact Ben Brown:

Thursday 5th March, 4:15pm
Paul Roche (University of Sydney)
Lucan's Supernatural

Thursday 12th March, 4:15pm
Rachael White (University of Oxford)
Classics and the political culture of New South Wales in the 19th century

Thursday 19th March, 4:15pm
Thomas Wilson (University of Sydney)
Kritias, cultural conflict, and dramatic reception in fifth-century Athens

Thursday 16th April, 4:15pm
Stephen Lake (University of Sydney)
A Failed Cultural Transfer: Aspects of the Roman non-appropriation of Greek medicine in the early Christian West

Thursday 30th April, 4:15pm
Peter Wilson (University of Sydney)
Dancing for free: Pindar's Kastor-song for Hieron

Thursday 7th May, 4:15pm
David Rafferty (University of Melbourne)
TBA

Thursday 14th May, 4:15pm
Tatiana Bur (University of Sydney)
Ancient automata and sensory experience

Thursday 21st May, 4:15pm
Ben Ferris (University of Sydney)
Jean Cocteau's Orpheus: the cinematic poet?

Thursday 28th May, 4:15pm
Kai Brodersen (University of Erfut)
TBA

Thursday 4th June, 4:15pm
Sheira Cohen (University of Sydney)
Space, directionality and movement in Middle Republican Latin

Download a copy of the programme here

A full listing of the the seminar schedule for Classics and Ancient History from Semester 2 2014 can be found here


RESEARCH SEMINARS IN NEAR EASTERN ARCHAEOLOGY

Welcome to a new edition of the Near Eastern Seminar Series for Semester 1, 2015. Seminars are held on Mondays at 3:15pm in the Boardroom of the Centre for Classical and Near Eastern Studies of Australia located on Level Four of the Madsen Building on Eastern Avenue in the University of Sydney's Camperdown Campus.

All are welcome.

For further information and to subscribe to the mailing list, please contact Ana Becerra at:

Monday 30th March
No NESS

Monday 6th April
Easter Monday

Monday 13th April
Professor Alison Betts (University of Sydney)
"Finding Zoroaster: new perspectives on a great world religion."

Monday 20th April
Dr Matt Jones (University of Nottingham)
"20,000 years of impacts, adaptation and vulnerability: case studies from the Near East."

Monday 27th April
Ana Silkatcheva (University of Sydney)
TBA

Monday 4th May
Dr Bernadette Drabsch (University of Newcastle)
"The Ghassulian Wall Art: When, Why and to Whom."

Monday 11th May
Dr Ron Tappy (Pittsburgh Theological Seminary)
"The Linear Alphabet and the Longue Durée."

Monday 18th May
Jamie Fraser (University of Sydney)
TBA

Monday 25th May
No NESS

Download a copy of the programme here

A full listing of the seminar schedule for Near Eastern Archaeology from Semester 2 2014 can be found here


RESEARCH SEMINARS IN CLASSICAL ARCHAEOLOGY

The programme for this semester’s seminars in Classical Archaeology is listed below. Seminars will be held on Tuesdays, 3.00-4.30, in the Boardroom of the Centre for Classical and Near Eastern Studies of Australia. It is located on level four of the Madsen Building (on Eastern Avenue opposite the Carslaw Building). CCANESA is at the top of the stairs located directly in front of you when you enter the Madsen Building (i.e. one floor above the level of the main entrance to the building).

Enquiries: Ted Robinson

Tuesday 10 March
Richard Green - Tragoidia/Goat-Song and the Naming of Tragedy

Tuesday 24 March
Hugh Thomas - Droning On: UAV photography and 3D modelling at Zagora, Methone and the Agora

Tuesday 14 April
Janice Crowley - The Eye, the Mind and the Hand: Seals, Signets and the Artistic Vision of the Minoans

Tuesday 28 April
Beatrice Mcloughlin - The technological and visual characterization of thin-walled coarse wares from Zagora: potters, specialization and community needs on Andros in the eighth century B.C.

Tuesday 5 May
Alba Mazza - Coastal landscape archaeology in Sicily: A new approach for study coastal cities and their palaeolandscapes

Tuesday 19 May
Brett Myers - Lucanian Fortified Centres - methodology, survey and some preliminary results

Tuesday 2 June
Tyler Jo Smith (University of Virginia) - TBA

Enquiries: Ted Robinson (ted.robinson@sydney.edu.au, 9351 3072)

Download a copy of the programme here

A full listing of the seminar schedule for Classical Archaeology from Semester 2 2014 can be found here