Convocation Medal

Each year, the University of Sydney Alumni Council awards the Convocation Medal. The award is presented to an outstanding recent graduate who has also contributed exceptionally to the life of the University. The Convocation Medal is presented at the Annual Alumni Reception.

The Convocation Medal award was established by the Alumni Council (then known as the Standing Committee of Convocation) in 1979. In 2013, the Convocation Medal was awarded to Daniel Ward (BA (Adv) (Hons) '09, LLB '13). The Medal was presented at the Alumni Awards Reception which was held in the Great Hall on Friday 27 September 2013.

Additional Medals were established in 2011 to recognise masters by coursework, PhD, International, Indigenous and Sporting achievements.

The Edmund Barton Medal and the Rita and John Cornforth Medal were first awarded in 2011 with the remaining Medal categories being awarded for the first time in 2012.

Further information, including nomination forms and selection criteria for the Awards Program for 2014 can be accessed here.

Alumni Awards

The University of Sydney Alumni Council works with the Alumni and Events Office to select the winners of the Alumni Awards for Achievement in Community Service. These awards are won by graduates who have made an outstanding personal and professional contribution to the community at large.

The 2013 Alumni Award recipients were:

  • Dr Russell Dickens (BVSc ’54 MVSc ’75) for Community Achievement
  • Emeritus Professor Jeremy Davis AM (BEc ’64) for Professional Achievement
  • Ms Julie McKay (EMBA, ’11) and Mr Majok Tulba (MSW, ’09) for Young Alumni Achievement

Please visit the Alumni Relations Office awards page for details relating to the recipients and for further information on the 2014 Alumni Awards Program.