Graduate in absentia

There are two ways that you can obtain your certificate if you are not attending your graduation ceremony.

1. You can nominate to graduate In Absentia at the earliest date possible and have your documents posted out to the address nominated in your MyUni account. The graduations office confers degrees monthly, which means you will receive your testamur at an earlier date (before your scheduled graduation ceremony). If you choose to have your degree conferred at the earliest date possible, you need to be aware that you will not appear in a graduation program.

Please click here to download the application form.

2. If you do not attend your scheduled graduation ceremony you will automatically have your degree conferred In Absentia and your documents will be posted out to the address nominated in your MyUni account shortly after your scheduled graduation date. You will receive a program with your name and the names of your peers who graduated at your scheduled graduation ceremony.

If you choose option 2 DO NOT submit the ‘Application to Graduate In Absentia’ form to us. Please wait until you receive your e-invitation and RSVP your absence.

NOTE: The conditions of applying to Graduate In Absentia will mean that you cannot attend a Graduation Ceremony at a later date in Sydney. You are, however, more than welcome to attend an Overseas Graduation Ceremony.

Please submit your application to:

Graduations Office
Student Centre
Level 3, Jane Foss Russell Building, G02
University of Sydney, NSW, 2006.

Email:

Please consider the options carefully before submitting the Application to Graduate In Absentia form to us. Once you submit the form and it is processed, you will have no further opportunities to change your mind.

2015 In Absentia Conferral Schedule

In absentia conferral dates are below. Applications are due to 1 week prior to the dates listed below.

Day Date
Monday 5 January
Monday 2 February
Monday 2 March
Tuesday 7 April
Monday 4 May
Monday 1 June
Monday 6 July
Monday 3 August
Monday 7 September
Tuesday 6 October
Monday 2 November
Monday 7 December