Foundations of Research Supervision


This program is for academics who are new, or relatively new, to higher degree research supervision at The University of Sydney. The purpose of the program is to enhance your ability to supervise research students effectively at this University.

The program, which is run by the Education Innovation team (formerly Institute for Teaching and Learning) at the request of the Academic Board, will familiarise you with the following:

  • relevant policies and resources at this University;
  • some key scholarly literature on supervision;
  • the reported experiences of research students; and
  • the perspectives of colleagues from across the University who are also doing this program.

Academics who complete the program requirements will be issued with a Certificate of Program Completion, which enables them to be placed on the Supervision Registry provided that they have fulfilled all other requirements set by the Academic Board. (To read the policy, click here.)

You are welcome to browse the modules without completing the program, but to gain entry you will need to first register for the program.



We gratefully acknowledge those who have played a key role in the significant revision and redesign of this program, which was launched in March 2012 and further revised and updated in February 2013. This includes Dr Cynthia Nelson, who revised, updated and wrote program content; James Tracy, who provided web design and development; and Ben Spiers, who provided web development. We are also grateful to Susan Robinson, who coordinates the administrative aspects of the program.

We also thank those who contributed ideas and feedback during the extensive revision process. This includes academics who completed previous iterations of this program and whose written feedback on each module proved invaluable in revising it, as well as colleagues at the Institute for Teaching and Learning and across the University, via groups such as the SEG Research Training Committee and the SEG RTC Supervision Working Party.

Lastly, we thank those who created, designed and contributed to this program in the past: Angela Brew, Peter Kandlbinder, Tai Peseta, Sue Piper, Keith Trigwell and Rachel Williams.

next: The program