Indigenous education

In 1975, 23 Aboriginal teachers aides were appointed by the NSW Department of Education. While slow to appoint aides, NSW was the first state to require training as a condition of appointment, and for this training to be undertaken in a university. The Aboriginal Teachers Aides Training program began officially that year in the Department of Adult Education at the University of Sydney.

With the disbandment of the Department of Adult Education in 1983, the training program was relocated in the University's Department of Education, later the Faculty of Education. At this time, it was known as the Aboriginal Education Assistants Program. Within a few years, it became clear that the provision of training alone was an insufficient response to the needs of indigenous students on campus so, in 1989, the Faculty of Education established an Aboriginal Education Centre.

In 1990, the centre received substantial Commonwealth Government funding, enabling it to provide a full range of support services. It also developed Aboriginal studies programs in the University, drawing on the resources of the Sydney College of Advanced Education.

The name of the Aboriginal Education Centre was changed to the Koori Centre in 1992, to better reflect its purposes and community association. In 1994, the Koori Centre left the Faculty of Education and became a mainstream University initiative. It also moved from the Mackie Building to the Old Teachers College, a site in the heart of the Camperdown campus.

In 2013, the support services provided by the Koori Centre became part of the administrative responsibilities of the University's inaugural Deputy Vice Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy and Services) Professor Shane Houston. At the same time, The Sydney School of Education and Social Work again became responsible for administering and delivering the undergraduate and postgraduate study programs of the Koori Centre reverted to the Sydney School of Education and Social Work.

At the time of the transfer, the Koori Centre was operating three study programs exclusively for indigenous students. Each was offered only in block mode, to maximise its accessibility: