Learning Technology Research Symposium 2009

The Learning Technology Research Symposium 2009 was held on 1st October 2009 and saw the coming together of over 100 researchers and practitioners in ICT-supported learning.

Award winners included Miriam Tanti for her poster, "Applying Slowness to ICT Integrated Learning: A Vision for the 'Long Now'" and Puji Rahayu and Prof Michael J. Jacobson for "Speaking Self-efficacy and English as a Foreign Language: Learning Processes in a Multi-user Virtual Environment". These and other posters from the event are available online in our Virtual Poster Session. The roundtables brought participants together with experts from the Department of Education and Training and the Centre for Learning Innovation. See below for a full list of roundtable topics and leaders.

The Symposium was held at the CoCo Research Centre, Level 2, Education Building (A35), at the University of Sydney.

Poster Sessions

The Research Poster Showcase was an opportunity to catch up on the various research innovations in ICT-supported learning emerging locally. It was also an opportunity to showcase own research, and explore shared interests. The poster showcase was broken down into two half-hour sessions, giving everyone a chance to alternate between discussing their own work, and finding out more about other work carried out in this broad field. The session included a diverse showcase of collaborative work, government-funded research, small projects and postgraduate research.

See the Virtual Poster Session for 2009.

Roundtables

The roundtables were a unique opportunity to engage in discussion and enquiry with experts and practitioners in a particular ICT and learning interest area. Each round table was facilitated by 1 or 2 experts who have particular experience and interest in the chosen theme. The table leaders kicked off the discussion with a short introduction to the topic and some initial questions for participants to discuss. The table then opened for discussion, questioning and debate.

Below is a list of all the topics discussed at this year's Symposium:

  • Bridging Understanding and Action: How Can eLearning Support Knowledge Integration and Application?
    by: Dr Lina Markauskaite (CoCo), contact: l.markauskaite@edfac.usyd.edu.au
  • Digital Education Revolution in NSW: Laptops for Learning - An Overview of the DER in NSW Government Schools and a Chance to Explore the Laptops and their Capacities
    by: Terry O’Brien and Katherine Lye (NSW Department of Education and Training), contact: Terry.Obrien@det.nsw.edu.au or katherine.lye@det.nsw.edu.au
  • Effectiveness of ICT: How Will We Know If the Digital Education Revolution Is Working?
    by: Dr Sarah Howard and Dr Chun Hu (CoCo), contact: s.howard@edfac.usyd.edu.au or chu@usyd.edu.au
  • Escape from Second Life and Computer Games: Real Research on Learning in Virtual Worlds
    by: Colin Wood (Centre for Learning Innovation) and Prof Michael Jacobson (CoCo), contact: colin.wood@det.nsw.edu.au or mjacobson@usyd.edu.au
  • Evolution or Revolution: Is Everything New All of the Time?
    by: Dr Karl Maton (University of Sydney, Dept of Sociology and Social Policy), contact: kmaton@usyd.edu.au
  • Lessons Learned from Connected Classrooms Program - the Benefits of Collaboration Tools for Teaching and Learning
    by: Sue Beveridge (NSW Department of Education and Training), contact: sue.beveridge@det.nsw.edu.au
  • Researching Mobile Technology and Learning
    by: Andrew Litchfield (UTS, Faculty of Engineering and IT) and Susanna Mann (CoCo), contact: ajl@it.uts.edu.au or s.mann@edfac.usyd.edu.au
  • Researching Students' Experiences of eLearning in Higher Education Settings
    by: Prof Peter Goodyear (CoCo), contact: p.goodyear@edfac.usyd.edu.au