Travel back in time through this list of yearly milestones to follow CoCo's humble course through research time.


  • The annual Research Fest took place on Nov 6th and was opened by Professor Pip Pattison, DVC Education, University of Sydney. It featured poster, workshop and roundtable sessions and attracted over 120 attendees. It closed with an invited lecture from Professor Simon Buckingham-Shum, Professor of Learning Informatics and Director of the Connected Intelligence Centre at UTS, titled "Learning Analytics: Critical Issues" (available to view online on YouTube). Slides of the keynote and some of the posters displayed are available online at http://bit.ly/STLFest14files.


  • Pauline Ho, SuChing (Sylvia) Huang and Mary-Helen Ward are awarded Doctors of Philosophy.
  • The 2013 Research Fest was held on 7 Nov in the IT and PNR Buildings of the University of Sydney with 150 registered participants from various institutions. The opening plenary on Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) was given by A/Prof Bob Kummerfeld, and titled Where are SPOCs taking us?. Other events included a Research Poster Showcase and interactive parallel workshops, panels, technology demos, and others.


  • In July, The Design Studio officially opens, with a reception hosting leading researchers in the Learning Sciences from around the world. Professor Marcia Linn from the University of California- Berkeley cuts the ribbon.
  • CoCo hosts the 10th International Conference of the Learning Sciences in July 2012 (ICLS2012). Michael Jacobson and Peter Reimann co-chair the conference.
  • Karen Scott, Shannon Kennedy Clark, Jason Sergeant and Anindito Aditomo are awarded PhDs.
  • The Sciences and Technologies of Learning (STL) network is established to foster and support highly effective research group collaborations, especially between the faculties of Engineering & IT, Science, and Education & Social Work. STL is lead by Peter Goodyear, and supported by the University's Sydney Research Networks Scheme (SyReNS).


  • Peter Goodyear is named one of Sydney's top 100 most influential people by the Sydney Morning Herald.
  • As CoCo now has over 40 people, we enlarge and renovate our workspace in the Education Building.
  • Enrollments for the Master of Learning Science and Technology have tripled since the program was launched.
  • Kelly McGraw and Susanna Mann graduate.
  • The Laureate project team is finalised.
  • Sadhbh Warren joins CoCo staff to support centre events, media and administrative affairs.


  • Peter Goodyear becomes the first Laureate Fellow in Education.
  • CoCo wins the bid to host the International Conference of the Learning Sciences in 2012. Michael Jacobson is to chair the conference.
  • CoCo wins 2 ALTC grants to commence in 2011.
  • The Learning Technology Research Fest, in its 4th year running, continues to grow in popularity, hosting a record number of participants and presentations.


  • Professor Michael Jacobson steps in to replace founder Professor Peter Reimann as CoCo's new Co-director, and together co-directors Jacobson and Goodyear steer CoCo towards a new decade.
  • CoCo signs a memorandum of understanding with the Centre for Learning Innovation (CLI) at the Department of Education and Training, NSW.
  • CoCo wins 3 new major ARC grants to commence in 2010.
  • Kate Thompson rejoins CoCo as a Senior Research Associate.
  • Sarah Howard graduates from PhD student to CoCo Post-doctoral Researcher.


  • CoCo wins 4 new ARC Discovery 2009 projects.
  • Leading researcher Prof. Michael Jacobson moves to Australia and joins CoCo.
  • Kate Thompson graduates from Phd student to Postdoctoral Fellow.


  • National curriculum developer and leading researcher, Professor Peter Freebody (aka. Peter #3) joins CoCo
  • Peter Goodyear wins a prestigious Carrick Senior Fellowship.
  • Previously a postdoctoral fellow, Lina Markauskaite joins permanent academic staff as lecturer and e-Research specialist.
  • CoCo hosts the first annual Learning Technology Research Fest.


  • CoCo and the faculty launch the Master of Learning Science and Technology degree and see its first year of graduates complete the course.
  • CoCo hosts the ASCILITE 2006 conference


  • Dr. Chun Hu joins CoCo Academic Staff.
  • CoCo is successful in receiving three ARC linkage grants and a third ARC Discovery grant.


  • CoCo is officially launched as a Research Centre within the Sydney School of Education and Social Work.
  • CoCo's first PhD student (Kate Davison) joins the team, and is soon followed by 2 more full-time PhD students.
  • CoCo receives funding for 4 postgraduate fellows, and Posdoctoral Fellow Lina Markauskaite joins the team.
  • CoCo hosts the International Research Forum "Elearning in the Wild" as part of the AC21 conference in Sydney.
  • CoCo is successful in receiving two ARC discovery grants.


  • Peter Reimann joins the University of Sydney. 3 months later, Peter Goodyear joins him and together, "the two Peters" create the CoCo Research Centre.
  • The Peters begin to build the core CoCo team when they are joined by an administration assistant, educational multimedia designer and web developer. The team will grow each year.