Education (Sec: Math), BSc – course structure

The links below provide unit-of-study information arranged by year, including links to printable unit of study outlines. Students who have questions about their own degree programs should, in the first instance, direct these to the administrator by email or telephone, or in person at the faculty's Student Administration Office, Level 3 of the Education Building. Full descriptions of units of study can be found in the Faculty handbook entry for BEd (Sec:Math), BSc.

Course structure information is available at the faculty enrolment website links below:

Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 4 | Year 5

Teaching area information for commencing students

All teacher-training programs for secondary teachers at the University of Sydney require students to qualify in two teaching areas: a Major Teaching Area, sometimes referred to as the "1st Teaching Area"; and a Minor Teaching Area, sometimes referred to as the "2nd Teaching Area".

In the BEd teacher-training program for secondary mathematics, it is mandatory for students to study mathematics as their Major Teaching Area. For their Minor Teaching Area, they can select from mathematics, geography or a secondary-school science subject (see below).

Students who choose mathematics as both their Major and minor Teaching area are said to be enrolled in "double method" mathematics. Those who select a different available Minor Teaching Area are said to be enrolled in "single method" mathematics.

Year 1 students who choose neither mathematics nor geography as their Minor Teaching Area must complete a minimum of 12 credit points of junior units of study in chemistry or physics, even if they are planning to teach earth & environmental science or biology.

Teaching Areas available as
'Major' and/or 'Minor'
Teaching Areas available as
'Minor' only




Earth & Environmental Science
(Geology and Geophysics)