Thesis and dissertation writing workshop series

Eligibility: faculty MPhil, EdD, DSW and PhD students who have completed at least one year of a research degree Professor Brian Paltridge

  Professor Brian Paltridge

Day: Tuesdays and Thursdays, March to April (check below for exact dates)
Time: 5–7pm
Venue: details will be provided upon registration
To register, email:
 
 


Workshop synopsis


This series of workshops has been designed for HRDSs in the faculty who have completed at least one year of a research degree. The focus of the workshops is on writing and structuring a thesis/dissertation. Students will examine past theses/dissertations, consider the context of their own thesis and receive feedback on their writing. The aims of the workshops are to:

  • understand expectations of thesis/dissertation writing

  • write in appropriate academic style

  • facilitate production of a high quality thesis/dissertation

  • establish peer support networks for thesis/dissertation writing


Workshop timetable 2016

  5–7pm Topic

1

Tue 1 March

Introduction to thesis writing   

2

Thu 3 March

Types of theses

3

Tue 8 March

Requirements and expectations of theses

4

Thu 10 March

Writing in academic style

5

Tue 15 March

Reviewing the literature

6

Thu 17 March

Writing the literature review

7

Tue 22 March

Writing workshop

8

Thu 24 March

Writing about research design and research methodology

9

Tue 19 April

Presenting results

10

Thu 21 April

Writing the discussion

11

Tue 26 April

The introduction, title, contents, acknowledgements, abstract and appendices

12

Thu 28 April

Beyond the thesis

To register, email Professor Brian Paltridge


Other doctoral workshops